CD Connected [Various Artists/Timo Maas] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 6304600), Audio Other
back to browsing

Connected [Various Artists/Timo Maas] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I Want
    2. Travelogue
    3. Sudden Journey [Leon Alexander Remix] - (Leon Alexander Remix)
    4. Underwater
    5. Love in Traffic [Satoshi's Dark Path Remix] - (Satoshi's Dark Path Remix)
    6. Innocente [Deep Dish Gladiator Remix] - (Deep Dish Gladiator Remix)
    7. First Light
    8. Into Your Heart [John Selway Remix] - (John Selway Remix)
    9. Can Dance
    10. Bedford St.
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Star 69 [Timo Maas Remix] - (Timo Maas Remix)
    2. Hopeless
    3. Reformatted [General MIDI Mix] - (General Midi Mix)
    4. Sputnik
    5. Special K [Timo Maas Remix] - (Timo Maas Remix)
    6. Island [Moguai Mix] - (Moguai Mix)
    7. Rhythm Your Life
    8. Coatnoise [Dave Clarke Remix] - (Dave Clarke Remix)
    9. Purple
    10. Ocb
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7240004023

  • Credits

    This is a continuous in-the-mix CD compiled and mixed by Timo Maas.
    Your opinion of this album is likely to be based almost entirely on your perception of what constitutes an enjoyable DJ mix. Do you prefer a series of songs composed mainly of repetitive bleeps and blips strung together, chosen for their constant BPM rate, to be used primarily for ecstasy-fueled rave marathons or driving at Daytona 500-like speeds down the highway? Or would you prefer a collection of songs strong enough to stand up on their own individual merits, nimbly sequenced to flow together seamlessly while each providing its own unique flavor? This 20-song, two-CD collection from superstar DJ Timo Maas is definitely geared towards those who fall into the former group, as you're a good five songs in when Kelli Ali's cooing vocals come in on Satoshi Tomiie's "Love in Traffic" before you realize that four virtually identical songs have already passed. It's not a bad mix per se, especially if you're more concerned with dancing or partying than paying close attention to the music -- the beats are uptempo, many of the grooves infectious (if a bit mind-numbing at times). But aside from songs like Fatboy Slim's "Star 69," Placebo's "Special K," and one or two others, very few of these tunes stand out in the mix. If the only purpose of Connected is to showcase Maas' skills as a DJ/remixer, then mission accomplished. But if you're looking for a techno mix that'll sound just as good through your headphones as it does on the dancefloor, you might wanna look elsewhere. ~ Bret Love

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (6/01, p.124) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Brilliantly sidetracks most current dance music's obnoxious pomp and circumstance, Another reminder that intelligence need not absent itself in the face of the hardest of beats."
    CMJ (8/01, p.88) - "...Tasty and tantalizing..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (5/01, p.117) - "...A steamroller, peak-hour behemoth containing electrified versions of Placebo and Midfield General plus Stylus Trouble's thrilling 'Sputnik'..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.73
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for