CD Dresden: In Concert (CD 4677563), Audio Other
back to browsing

Dresden: In Concert

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Paper Nut
    2. Tall Tear Trees, The
    3. Heitor
    4. Twelve Moons
    5. Rondo Amoroso
    6. Tao
    7. Milagre Dos Peixes
    0. DISC 2:
    1. There Were Swallows
    2. Reluctant Saxophonist, The
    3. Transformations
    4. Once I Dreamt a Tree Upside Down
    5. Fugl
    6. Maracuja
    7. Grooving Out!
    8. Nu Bein'
    9. Voy Cantando
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2100

  • Credits
    ProducerJan Garbarek; Manfred Eicher

    Personnel: Jan Garbarek (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Rainer Bruninghaus (piano, keyboards); Manu Katch (drums).
    Audio Mixers: Jan Erik Kongshaug; Jan Garbarek; Manfred Eicher.
    Recording information: Alter Schlachthof, Dresden (10/20/2007).
    Photographer: Guri Dahl.
    Arranger: Jan Garbarek.
    It's hard to believe that after recording as a leader for 40 years, DRESDEN: IN CONCERT is Jan Garbarek's first-ever live album. For those who think that Garbarek abandoned jazz some time ago, this will be a shock. DRESDEN is an engaged, kinetic, double-disc, two-hour performance of his quartet playing in the modern jazz idiom and using all of its tenets--from complex harmonics and rhythmic invention to extended lyric improvisation--to create a tour de force that honors all the music he holds dear. Garbarek plays tenor, soprano, and selje flute here, and is accompanied by his regular group that includes drummer Manu Katche, pianist/keyboadist Rainer Brninghaus, and electric bassist Yuri Daniel. There are 16 compositions that include tracks from previous albums -- some of them radically but exquisitely revamped for this quartet and performance. There are also tunes by his bandmates, and an extended, stellar reading of Milton Nascimento's gorgeous "Milagro Dos Piexes," that features some of the most inventive and dynamic dialogue between Garbarek and Brninghaus on record.

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (pp.60-61) - "Garbarek, naturally, puts a lot of space in his playing; on 'Heitor' he even clips the notes of his soulful solo."
    JazzTimes (p.36) - Ranked #38 in JazzTimes' "Top 50 CDs of 2009."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.87) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] dynamic and enthralling new live double set recorded in Germany..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $21.38
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for