CD Earwig 20th Anniversary Collection (CD 1010753), Audio Other
back to browsing

Earwig 20th Anniversary Collection

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Jelly Roll Stroll - The Jelly Roll Kings
    2. Mr. Freddie Blues - Floyd Jones
    3. Long Ways from Home - Jim Brewer
    4. You Can Have My Woman - Big Jack Johnson
    5. Gonna Put Her Down - Frank Frost
    6. Patience Like Job - Sunnyland Slim
    7. Daddy, When Is Mama Comin Home? - Big Jack Johnson
    8. Hard, Oh Lord - Little Brother Montgomery
    9. Wiggle Tail - Louis Myers
    10. Beetin Knockin Ringin - Jimmy Dawkins
    11. Army Blues, The - David Honeyboy Edwards
    12. Slow Down Baby - Lester Davenport
    13. Lawhorn Special - John Primer
    14. Leavin' You Tomorrow - H-Bomb Ferguson
    15. Trouble - Aron Burton
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Tell Me That You Love Me - Lovie Lee
    2. What Done Got into That Woman - Homesick James Williamson
    3. 69th Street Bounce - Willie Anderson
    4. Please Mr. Catfish - Big Leon Brooks
    5. Parole Blues - Louisiana Red
    6. I'm Just a Natural Man - Aron Burton
    7. North Carolina Bound - Dave Weld/Lil' Ed/Lil Ed
    8. You Can't Call the Blues - Johnny Yard Dog Jones
    9. Life Sentence of the Blues - Liz Mandville Greeson
    10. Every Now and Then - David Honeyboy Edwards/Carey Bell
    11. I Wanna Get Married - Willie Kent
    12. She Got a Thing Goin' On - Bonnie Lee/Sunnyland Slim
    13. Red's Vision - Louisiana Red
    14. I Wanna Get in Your Head, Before I Get in Your Bed - Johnny Drummer
    15. Friendly Stranger, The - Liz Mandville Greeson
    16. Millennium Blues - Louisiana Red
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4946

  • Credits
    ProducerEurreal Montgomery; Eddie Watson; Jan Montgomery; Howard Sacks; Steve Wisner; Johnny Drummer; Liz Mandville Greeson; Michael Robert Frank; Aron Burton; Sunnyland Slim; Bob Corritore
    EngineerAlan Lomax

    Performers include: Liz Mandville Greeson, Johnny Drummer, Johnny "Yard Dog" Jones.
    Personnel: Johnny Yard Dog Jones, Louis Myers (vocals, guitar, harmonica); David Honeyboy Edwards, Iverson Minter, Floyd Jones , Homesick James Williamson, Jim Brewer, Jimmy Dawkins, Lil' Ed Williams, Louisiana Red, Big Jack Johnson (vocals, guitar); Frank Frost (vocals, harmonica, piano, Farfisa, synthesizer); Willie Anderson, Lester Davenport, Big Leon Brooks (vocals, harmonica); Eurreal Montgomery, Eddie Watson, H-Bomb Ferguson, Albert Luandrew, Sunnyland Slim (vocals, piano); Thessex Johns, Johnny Drummer, Liz Mandville Greeson, Aron Burton, Willie Kent (vocals); Jim Simms (guitar, keyboard programming); Byther Smith (guitar, background vocals); Michael Dotson, Eddie C. Campbell, Marty Charters, Mike Gibb, Willie Phillips, Jimmie Lee Robinson, John Primer, Johnny B. Moore, Larry Burton, Lurrie Bell, Magic Slim, Robert Lockwood, Jr., Sammy Lawhorn, Steve Freund (guitar); Alan Hightman (slide guitar); Ron Sorin, Mark Brumbach, Carey Bell Harrington, Mervyn "Harmonica" Hinds, Willie "Big Eyes" Smith, Carey Bell (harmonica); Eric Neuhausser (saxophone); Hank Ford, Vicente Salerno (tenor saxophone); Elmer Brown (trumpet); Bill McFarland (trombone); Allen Batts (piano, electric piano); Jasper Buchanan, Eddie Lusk (piano, organ); Vince Willis, Pat Hall (piano, keyboards); Barrelhouse Chuck Goering, Emery Williams, Jr., Phil Baron, Pinetop Perkins (piano); Carl Snyder (keyboards); Kelly Littleton, Dave Jefferson, Earl Howell, Kansas City Red, Fred Below, Sam Burton, Keenath Malachi Williams, Joe Poston , Jeff Taylor , Ernest Roy, Baldhead Pete, Mickey Martin, James Herndon, Kenny Smith , Mike Scott , Odie Payne, Jr., Ray Scott, Robert Covington, Sam Carr, Sam Lay, Tito Cortes (drums); Bonnie Lee (background vocals).
    Liner Note Author: Michael Robert Frank.
    Recording information: Evanston, IL (07/20/1942-06/18/1999); Gambier, OH Folk Festival (07/20/1942-06/18/1999); Memphis, TN (07/20/1942-06/18/1999); New York, NY (07/20/1942-06/18/1999); Phoenix, AZ (07/20/1942-06/18/1999); The Sky Club, Aurora, IL (07/20/1942-06/18/1999).
    Since its formation in the late '70s, Earwig has been one of the top blues labels even if it has generally been overshadowed by such giants as Alligator, Blind Pig and Delmark. A former employee of Bob Koester (the head of Delmark), Michael Robert Frank was inspired to start his own label. In the years since, he has recorded many top unsung blues artists, as can be heard on this superlative two-CD sampler, Earwig 20th Anniversary Collection. Rather than filling in the set with a lot of tracks that are actually R&B, soul, or blues ballads, the emphasis throughout this two-fer is on the blues itself. Occasional instrumentals, spirited vocals, rocking electric blues, some more intimate acoustic country blues, and even a lone track from 1942 (David Honeyboy Edwards' "The Army Blues") are all included on this well-conceived package. Virtually every selection is a high point, for the tracks were well-chosen, so pick up this sampler and enjoy a perusal through the riches of the Earwig catalog. There are many talented blues artists to discover. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for