CD Follies: The Complete Recording [1998 Cast Recording] (CD 175244), Audio Other
back to browsing

Follies: The Complete Recording [1998 Cast Recording]

  • 0. DISC 1: ACT I:
    1. Prologue / Overture
    2. Beautiful Girls
    3. Don't Look at Me
    4. Waiting For the Girls Upstairs
    5. Rain on the Roof
    6. Ah, Paris!
    7. Broadway Baby
    8. Road You Didn't Take, The
    9. Bolero d'Amore
    10. In Buddy's Eyes
    11. Who's That Woman?
    12. I'm Still Here
    13. Too Many Mornings
    0. DISC 2: ACT II:
    1. Right Girl, The
    2. One More Kiss
    3. Could I Leave You?
    4. Loveland
    5. You're Gonna Love Tomorrow / Love Will See Us Through
    6. Buddy's Blues
    7. Losing My Mind
    8. Ah, But Underneath
    9. Live, Laugh, Love
    10. Finale
    11. Bring on the Girls
    12. Can That Boy Fox-Trot!
    13. Pleasant Little Kingdom
    14. All Things Bright and Beautiful
    15. That Old Piano Roll
    16. Who Could Be Blue? / Little White House
    17. Uptown / Downtown
    18. Story of Lucy and Jessie, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1030

  • Credits
    ProducerRobert Sher

    Principal cast: Ann Miller, Donna McKechnie, Dee Hoty, Laurence Guittard, Kaye Ballard, Tony Roberts, Phyllis Newman, Donald Saddler, Liliane Montevecchi, Michael Gruber, Billy Hartung, Danette Holden, Vahan Khanzadian, Natalie Mosco, Meredith Peterson, Carol Skarimbas.
    Additional personnel includes: Jonathan Tunick (conductor).
    Includes 40-page booklet featuring notes by Stephen Sondheim, Frank Rich and Theodore S. Chapin.
    All music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim.
    Stephen Sondheim's Follies is a tale of midlife crises, behind the guise of aging follies girls and their disappointing husbands. As the theatre where the girls used to perform is about to be destroyed, they gather once more to celebrate it and to reflect on the direction their lives have taken. Sondheim's score has some wonderful highlights, including "Broadway Baby," "Could I Leave You?" and "I'm Still Here." In 1998, a revival was staged in New York based on the original book, not the revised version found in the original London rendition ten years earlier. This is a perfectly fine recording of this beautiful score and is not a bad investment, but it doesn't quite live up to some of the recordings from earlier performances. ~ Sarah Erlewine

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (11/13/98, p.77) - "...Stephen Sondheim is our most sophisticated musical-theater writer. And his bittersweet score has never been more full realized. A must." - Rating: A
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $20.85
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for