CD Pat Metheny Group [Pat Metheny Group] (CD 247067), Audio Other
back to browsing

Pat Metheny Group [Pat Metheny Group]

  • 1. San Lorenzo
    2. Phase Dance
    3. Jaco
    4. Aprilwind
    5. April Joy
    6. Lone Jack
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 825593

  • Credits
    ProducerManfred Eicher
    EngineerJan Erik Kongshaug

    Pat Metheny Group: Pat Metheny (6- & 12-string guitars); Lyle Mays (autoharp, piano, synthesizer); Mark Egan (bass); Dan Gottlieb (drums).
    Recorded at Talent Studio, Oslo, Norway in January 1978.
    Personnel: Pat Metheny (guitar, electric 12-string guitar, 12-string guitar); Lyle Mays (autoharp, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, Oberheim synthesizer); Mark Egan (electric bass); Dan Gottlieb (drums, snare drum); Danny Gottlieb (drums).
    Recording information: Talent Studio, Oslo, Norway (01/1978).
    Photographer: Roberto Masotti.
    Guitarist Pat Metheny's atmospheric, "smooth" (when that word didn't carry ugly connotations) jazz was just about ready to set the world afire when this Pat Metheny Group effort hit the racks. Metheny's was one of the tighter outfits in modern jazz when this eponymous album was released in 1978 on ECM, the label that really mattered for them in the '70s.
    The Group's idiosyncratic blending of folk, blues stylings, improv spaciness, and supple rock underpinnings were unlike anything then happening in jazz. The opener, "San Lorenzo," establishes the mood. Ten-plus minutes of shimmering cymbals pierce a veil of stark bass, luminescent synthesizer motifs, and, of course, Metheny's resolutely gorgeous six- and 12-string picking. The music refracts differing hues in a prismatic puzzle. Sparse and beautiful.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.95
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for