CD Soul Fusion (CD 195104), Audio Other
back to browsing

Soul Fusion

  • 1. Parking Lot Blues
    2. 3000 Miles Ago
    3. Isn't She Lovely
    4. Soul Fusion
    5. Compassion
    6. Once I Loved
    7. Yano
    8. Bossa Nova Do Marilla
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 731

  • Credits
    ProducerNorman Granz
    EngineerVal Valentin

    Personnel: Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Monty Alexander (piano); John Clayton (bass); Jeff Hamilton (drums).

    Recorded at Group IV Recording Studios, Los Angeles, California on June 1 & 2, 1977. Originally released on Pablo (2310-804). Includes liner notes by Benny Green.
    Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1992, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
    Pianist Monty Alexander had first appeared on a Milt Jackson record in 1969. Eight years later the great vibraphonist used Alexander's trio (which included bassist John Clayton and drummer Jeff Hamilton, future big-band co-leaders) for this spirited Pablo session that was subsequently reissued on CD through Original Jazz Classics. Much of the material is obscure (including Jackson's three originals), with Stevie Wonder's "Isn't She Lovely" being the only standard. The music, however, is as straight-ahead as one would expect from these fine musicians, and can easily be recommended to their fans. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.30
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for