CD Talk Memphis * [049891006326] (CD 1148419), Audio Other
back to browsing

Talk Memphis * [049891006326]

  • 1. Talk Memphis
    2. What I'm Puttin' Down
    3. Mean Man
    4. Am I Groovin' U?
    5. Leftover Love
    6. Gravy
    7. Sunflower
    8. Right Where I Belong
    9. Poor Little Fool
    10. Runnin' Out
    11. Sorry About That
    12. 99 Pounds
    13. Power, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 63

  • Credits
    ProducerDerek O'Brien
    EngineerStuart Sullivan

    Personnel: David Grissom (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Derek O'Brien, Johnny Moeller (electric guitar); Kaz Kazanoff (saxophone); John H.R. Mills (baritone saxophone); Marcia Ball (piano); George Rains (drums); James Fenner (percussion); Rich Brotherton (background vocals).
    Recording information: Pedernales; Wire Studio.
    Arranger: John H.R. Mills.
    Austin mainstay Toni Price (who moved to San Diego shortly before the release of this set) ups the energy on her first album in four years. Talk Memphis rocks a bit harder, brings tougher soul, and generally burns hotter than much of the singer's catalog. As usual, she chooses terrific material to work with. From the greasy Memphis groove of the title track to the rootsy funk of "Am I Groovin' U?" to an obscure blues-soul gem from Stax's tag team of Hayes/Porter called "Leftover Love" (originally performed by Mable John), Price stamps these songs with her distinctive and sexy Southern drawl. Longtime cohort Gwil Owen contributes three tunes that tap into his country-folk pedigree. Price also digs deep into the Ashford & Simpson catalog for the R&B grit of "Runnin' Out'" and tears through the Ann Peebles' staple "99 Pounds" with the driving yet subdued passion that informs all of her work. Price slinks around Owen's "The Power" like a cat on the prowl and returns to Memphis again for a cover of Booker T. Jones' "Sorry About That." The Texas Horns and female background vocals (to which she often overdubs herself) bring even more sultry soul to a few tracks, including Allen Toussaint's "Mean Man." The band of Austin pros plays with hot-buttered precision, and even though Derek O'Brien's production is in the pocket, the sound is somewhat reserved for music that thrives on passion. Regardless, it adds up to a rousing good time that doesn't expand Price's borders as much as refine what she has already proved to do so effectively. It's another in a series of terrific releases from one of Southern music's best-kept secrets, who seems to improve with the passing years. ~ Hal Horowitz

  • Critic Reviews
    Dirty Linen (p.53) - "This latest collection cements her reputation as a classic stylish who knows how to shout and purr with the best of the classic blues, soul, and rock singers."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.67
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for