CD Who's Your New Professor [Digipak] (CD 1067082), Audio Other
back to browsing

Who's Your New Professor [Digipak]

  • 1. Something
    2. Magic Step
    3. Dot Eye
    4. Two Dedications
    5. Chicago People
    6. Little Bridges
    7. Splendid Hollow, A
    8. C + F
    9. Neighbor to Neighbor
    10. Density
    11. Between Outside
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): CDTHRILL14

  • Credits
    EngineerTim Iseler; John McEntire; John McEntire; Tim Iseler

    Personnel: Sam Prekop (vocals, guitar, piano); Sam Prekop; Josh Abrams (piano, electric piano, keyboards, acoustic bass, double bass, electric bass, bass guitar); Archer Prewitt (guitar, piano); Rob Mazurek (cornet); John McEntire (synthesizer, percussion); Chad Taylor (drums).
    Audio Mixer: John McEntire.
    Recording information: Soma Electronic Music Studio, Chicago, IL (2004).
    Photographer: Sam Prekop.
    Arrangers: Sam Prekop; Josh Abrams; Rob Mazurek; Archer Prewitt; Chad Taylor ; John McEntire.
    Sam Prekop's sophomore solo album coasts sweetly along through the expected layers of treated guitar harmonics, snappy drums, and crisp production, all enhancing the sunny Sunday-mellow groove. The difference from its precursor comes with close listening, wherein one can discern the many elaborate touches of producer John McEntire (Tortoise). The bossa nova elements of Prekop's self-titled debut are gone, replaced by free-floating lyrics--sung in the Sea & Cake leader's soothing half-falsetto--and the sound of math-rock solving itself and arriving back at simple square one.
    Most tracks merge into one another along a stream of consciousness, punctuated by oases of jazz piano and trumpet ("Neighbor to Neighbor"), electronic warbling ("Something"), and Curtis Mayfield-esque wah-wah guitar ("Density"). These songs, however, are more than just a series of pleasant, dreamy tracks; they function as a book of deeply abstract poems, the post-rock meaning of which may never be discerned. By the time "C + F" comes long, with its propulsive handclap rhythm and midway horn break, it should be apparent how hard Prekop works to make his painstakingly crafted compositions sound beautiful and breezy

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (p.100) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[B]rimful of breezy melodies and delicate charm....Restrained but deeply satisfying."
    Magnet (p.111) - "Prekop has the feel of early Pat Metheny behind him: a cool, nervy jangle whose vanilla fluidity aches through the melancholy pop..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.68
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for