CD Downhome Blues 1959 (CD 7011520),
back to browsing

Downhome Blues 1959

  • 0. DISC 1: A:
    1. When You Get Home, Write Me a Few Little Lines
    2. Drop Down Mama
    3. Shake 'Em on Down
    4. Fred McDowell's Blues
    5. Goin' Down to the River
    6. You Gonna Be Sorry
    7. You Done Tol' Everybody
    8. Woke Up This Morning with My Mind on Jesus
    9. Soon One Mornin'
    10. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burning
    11. Wished I Was in Heaven Sitting Down
    12. Germany Blues
    13. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
    14. Freight Train Blues
    15. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burning
    16. Been Drinkin' Water Out of a Hollow Log
    17. I Want Jesus to Walk with Me
    18. 61 Highway Blues
    19. Lord Have Mercy
    20. Worried Mind
    21. What's the Matter Now
    22. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burning
    0. DISC 2: B:
    1. Shake 'Em on Down [Alt] - (alternate take)
    2. Cool Water Blues
    3. Po' Boy Blues
    4. Clarksdale Mill Blues
    5. Jim and John
    6. Hen Duck
    7. Chevrolet
    8. Oree
    9. Sittin' on Top of the World
    10. All Night Long
    11. I'm Gonna Live Anyhow 'til I Die
    12. Buttermilk
    13. Levee Camp Reminiscence
    14. Train Time
    15. Red Cross Store
    16. You Gotta Cut That Out
    17. Stop Breaking Down
    18. Drink on Little Girl
    19. She Lived Her Life Too Fast
    20. She Don't Love Me That Way
    21. Forrest City Jump
    22. Boogie Children
    23. Joe Lee's Rock
    24. You Got Dimples in Your Jaw
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): JSP4227

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Neil Slaven.
    Recording information: Como, Miss. (09/21/1959-09/25/1959); Hughes, Ark. (09/21/1959-09/25/1959); Parchman Farm, Miss. (09/21/1959-09/25/1959); Como, Miss. (10/01/1959); Hughes, Ark. (10/01/1959); Parchman Farm, Miss. (10/01/1959); Como, Miss. (10/1959); Hughes, Ark. (10/1959); Parchman Farm, Miss. (10/1959).
    Downhome Blues 1959 contains 46 tracks, spread out over two CDs, tracing the rural blues guitarist Mississippi Fred McDowell's earliest recordings. The sessions take place on the front porch of his Como, MS farm between September 21-25, 1959 and recorded by folk researcher Alan Lomax with assistance from Shirley Collins. On the first disc, McDowell is heard playing acoustic guitar and is occasionally joined by guitarist Miles Pratcher with Fannie Davis on kazoo and comb, with vocals by McDowell's wife Annie Mae, James Shorty, Sidney Carter, and Rose Hemphill. The second disc includes one McDowell track, "Shake `Em on Down," with the remaining cuts spotlight other Lomax recordings from the same time by bluesmen Forrest City Joe, Boy Blue, Willie Jones and the fife and drum duo of Ed Young and G.D. Young. Although this material has been reissued over the years, JSP not only does an admirable job remastering the tracks but providing recording dates, personnel, and a bit of history that is easily accessible in individual jewel cases as opposed to a bulky booklet. As far as budget blues sets are concerned, this is one of the best. ~ Al Campbell

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.47
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for