CD Eternal Boogie (CD 4417500),
back to browsing

Eternal Boogie

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Spoonful
    2. Big Road Blues
    3. Rollin' and Tumblin'
    4. Got My Mojo Workin'
    5. Pretty Thing
    6. Louise
    7. Dimples
    8. Can't Hold On
    9. Straight Ahead
    10. Rollin' and Tumblin' - (Harmonica Version)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. On the Road Again
    2. Amphetamine Annie
    3. Going Up the Country
    4. Let's Work Together
    5. Kings of the Boogie
    6. Refried Hockey Boogie
    7. Hell's on Down the Line
    8. Chicken Shack Boogie
    9. So Long
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 250196

  • Credits
    ProducerPeter Noble; Johnny Otis; Peter Noble; Johnny Otis

    This 19-track release by California '60s blues rockers Canned Heat includes their 1966 debut as well as nine live tracks featuring Walter Trout on guitar, including the tracks "Spoonful," "Big Road Blues," and "Dimples."
    Canned Heat: Bob "The Bear" Hite (vocals); Henry Vestine (guitar); Alan "Blind Owl" Wilson, Ricky (Cherry Red) Kellogg (harmonica); Raul (Ernie) Rodriguez, Stuart Brotman (bass guitar); Adolfo de la Parra (drums); Mike Halby "The Mouth", Walter Trout, Frank Cook.
    Personnel: Mike Halby "The Mouth", Walter Trout (vocals, guitar); Frank Cook (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Alfie Falckenbach.
    Recording information: Australia (1966); El Dorado Studios, Los Angeles, CA (1966).
    All one can really say about this double-disc set is that the original Canned Heat -- portrayed on disc one -- was a mighty band. This was a group of men who understood the heart of the blues in feeling, in nuance, and in performance. One listen to the major-league music made by these cats on their debut album from 1967 -- in different track order -- will make anybody wonder why they weren't a smash success all over America. The second disc, called Live Boogie, is a reissue of Boogie Assault: Greatest Hits Live, recorded in November of 1994 in Australia with Walter Trout fronting a band that had completely different members. Trout's street cred in the band is real -- he was hired in 1981 to fill the shoes of the late, great Bob Hite, and remained with them for another five years before starting his own wonderful solo outfits. The rest of the band performed on different Heat sets throughout the years -- meaning, of course, that not one original member remains. Take your chances if you must, but there are far better Canned Heat comps available. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $7.67
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for