CD Friends of Old Time Music: The Folk Arrival 1961-1965 [Box] (CD 598724),
back to browsing

Friends of Old Time Music: The Folk Arrival 1961-1965 [Box]

  • 1. I'm Troubled - Doc Watson & Family
    2. Country Blues, The - Dock Boggs
    3. Going Down to the River - Mississippi Fred McDowell
    4. East Virginia Blues - Roscoe Holcomb
    5. Storms Are on the Ocean, The - Mother Maybelle Carter
    6. Dream of the Miner's Child, The - The Stanley Brothers
    7. Soldier's Joy - Hobart Smith
    8. Coffee Blues - Mississippi John Hurt
    9. Live and Let Live - Bill Monroe
    10. Lonely Tombs - The Watson Family
    11. Rockin' Boogie - Jesse Fuller
    12. Brown's Dream - Doc Watson/Gaither Carlton
    13. Down South Blues - Dock Boggs
    14. Knoxville Blues - Sam McGee
    15. Have a Feast Here Tonight - The Stanley Brothers
    16. Riley - Georgia Sea Island Singers
    17. Buck and Wing - Jesse Fuller
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Hell Among the Yearlings - Arthur "Guitar Boogie" Smith
    2. Amelia Earhart's Last Flight - The Greenbriar Boys
    3. Brakeman's Blues, The - Bill Monroe
    4. Foggy Mountain Top
    5. Hick's Farewell - Doc Watson
    6. Jordan Is a Hard Road to Travel - The New Lost City Ramblers
    7. Write Me a Few of Your Lines - Mississippi Fred McDowell
    8. Bimini Gal - Joseph Spence
    9. Shady Grove - Bill Monroe
    10. Grey Eagle - Bill Monroe
    11. Walkin' the Dog
    12. San Francisco Bay Blues - Jesse Fuller
    13. Short Life of Trouble - Doc Watson
    14. John Henry - Roscoe Holcomb
    15. Kneelin' Down Inside the Gate - Stanley Thompson
    16. Tell Me Why You Like Roosevelt - McKinley Peebles
    17. Bury Me Under the Weeping Willow - Mother Maybelle Carter
    18. Mansions for Me - The Stanley Brothers
    19. Before This Time Another Year - Bessie Jones
    0. DISC 3:
    1. My Creole Belle - Mississippi John Hurt
    2. Guitar Lesson - Jesse Fuller
    3. Cincinnati Blues - Jesse Fuller
    4. Poor Boy in Jail - Dock Boggs
    5. He's Solid Gone - Mother Maybelle Carter
    6. Maggie Walker Blues - Clarence Ashley
    7. Chevrolet - Emma Ramsay/Ed Young
    8. Rising Sun Blues - Roscoe Holcomb
    9. Lord, Build Me a Cabin in Glory - Bill Monroe
    10. Frankie and Albert - Mississippi John Hurt
    11. Hard Times
    12. Miller's Will, The - Horton Barker
    13. Coo Coo Bird, The - Clarence Ashley
    14. Double File - Doc Watson/Gaither Carlton
    15. Wandering Boy, The - Annie Bird
    16. Stranger Blues - Jesse Fuller
    17. I Saw the Light - Bill Monroe
    18. Sugar Hill - Mother Maybelle Carter
    19. Amazing Grace - Clarence Ashley
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 40160

  • Credits
    ProducerPete Reiniger; Peter K. Siegel
    EngineerPeter Bartok; Peter K. Siegel

    Personnel: Bill Monroe (vocals, tenor, mandolin); Arnold Watson (vocals, bass voice, banjo, harmonica); Mother Maybelle Carter, Roscoe Holcomb (vocals, guitar, banjo); Doc Watson, McKinley Peebles, John Hurt, Jack Cooke, John Herald, Joseph Spence, Mississippi John Hurt, Mississippi Fred McDowell, Clint Howard, Carter Stanley (vocals, guitar); Jesse Fuller (vocals, acoustic 12-string guitar, harmonica, kazoo, cymbals); Clarence Ashley, Dock Boggs, Tom Paley (vocals, banjo); Fred Price (vocals, fiddle); Ed Young (vocals, fife); Ethel McPhee, Edith Pinder, Emma Ramsay, Annie Bird, Horton Baker, John Davis & the Georgia Sea Island Singers, Stanley Thompson, Bessie Jones (vocals); Ralph Stanley, Bob Yellin (tenor, banjo); Del McCoury (baritone, banjo); Ralph Rinzler (baritone, mandolin); Clifford Ellis (bass voice); Mike Seeger (guitar, fiddle); John Cohen, Sam McGee, John Cooke (guitar); Hobart Smith, Kirk McGee (banjo); Curley Lambert (mandolin); Gaither Carlton, Fiddlin' Arthur Smith & His Dixieliners, Kenny Baker , Vernon Derrick (fiddle).
    Liner Note Authors: Jody Stecher; John Cohen; Peter K. Siegel.
    Introduction by: John Cohen.
    Photographers: David Gahr; Anton Mikofsky; Guy Droussart; John Cohen; Alan Lomax; Mike Seeger; Robert Frank .
    Arrangers: Doc Watson; Dock Boggs; Gaither Carlton; Ed Young; John Hurt; John Davis & the Georgia Sea Island Singers; Mother Maybelle Carter.
    The Friends of Old Time Music concerts were an attempt to introduce '60s folkniks to the source, and the incredible three-CD FRIENDS OF OLD TIME MUSIC: THE FOLK ARRIVAL 1961-1965 picks up where Harry Smith's seismically influential ANTHOLOGY OF AMERICAN FOLK MUSIC left off. Filled with live snapshots (many previously unreleased) of some of the biggest names in American folk and blues--Maybelle Carter, Roscoe Holcomb, Mississippi John Hurt, Fred MacDowell, Dock Boggs and many, many others--decades after the recordings that made them famous were released, this box set also represents the last hurrah for many of those artists and, consequently, the passing of a generational torch.

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (p.89) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "This mesmerising set by several ANTHOLOGY figures, plus Bill Monroe, Doc Watson, Maybelle Carter and others, brings the gravity of the moment home."
    Dirty Linen (p.67) - "The performances are inspiring, and the sound quality is superb....The first disc includes a genre-and color-line-busting banjo and vocal performance of 'The Country Blues' by Boggs."
    No Depression (p.77) - "As the collection's subtitle implies, the folk revival starts here. The people whose applause you hear were touched in many ways by hearing these performances."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.105) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "The 55 tracks, each of them fabulous, together add up to a collection almost as powerful as the Harry Smith ANTHOLOGY OF AMERICAN FOLK MUSIC box."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $39.19
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for