CD Hawk Squat (CD 214886),
back to browsing

Hawk Squat

  • 1. Speak My Mind
    2. If You Change Your Mind
    3. Too Much Pride
    4. What Can You Get Outside That You Can't Get at Home
    5. Same Mistake Twice, The
    6. 20% Alcohol
    7. Hip Shakin'
    8. Feeing Is Gone, The
    9. Notoriety Woman
    10. Too Late
    11. Send Her Home to Me
    12. Hawk Squat
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 617

  • Credits
    ProducerRobert G. Koester

    Personnel: J.B. Hutto (vocals, guitar); Lee Jackson (guitar); Sunnyland Slim (piano, organ); Maurice McIntyre (tenor saxophone); Junior Pettis, Dave Meyers, Herman Hassell (bass); Frank Kirkland (drums).
    Engineers: Ron Pickup, Malcolm Chisholm, Leon Kelert.
    Recorded at Sound Studios, Te-Mar Studios & Lakco Records, Chicago, Illinois
    in 1966 and 1968. Includes liner notes by Robert & Sue Koester.
    Personnel: J.B. Hutto (vocals, guitar); Lee Jackson (guitar); Kalaparusha Maurice McIntyre (tenor saxophone); Sunnyland Slim (piano, organ); Frank Kirkland (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Robert G. Koester.
    Recording information: Sound studios.
    Editor: Pete Wingfield.
    Photographer: Greg Roberts.
    The raw-as-an-open-wound Chicago slide guitarist J.B. Hutto outdid himself throughout an outrageously raucous album (most of it waxed in 1966) anchored by an impossible-to-ignore "Hip-Shakin'," the blaring title cut, and savage renditions of "20% Alcohol" and "Notoriety Woman." Sunnyland Slim augments Hutto's Hawks on organ, rather than his customary piano. ~ Bill Dahl

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.17
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for