CD Live at the Triple Door [Alice Stuart] (CD 1076705),
back to browsing

Live at the Triple Door [Alice Stuart]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I've Got Something for You
    2. Big Boss Man
    3. Man's So Good, The
    4. I Feel Like Hank Williams
    5. Sugar Babe
    6. Statesboro Blues
    7. I'd Do It for You
    8. Make It on My Own
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Hard Time Killin' Floor
    2. Natural Woman
    3. Everyone Knows
    4. I'm Goin' to New York City
    5. Night Patrol
    6. Wild Bill Jones
    7. Morocco
    8. One Too Many Mornings
    9. Highway
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 103

  • Credits
    EngineerSteve Malone

    Alice Stuart: Alice Stuart; Leif Totusek (vocals, guitar); Charlie Wallace (guitar, pedal steel guitar); Marcus Willett (bass guitar); Rick Boice (drum); Ricardo Guity (congas, cajon drums, percussion).
    Personnel: Alice Stuart (vocals, guitar); Marcus Willett (vocals); Charlie Wallace (dobro).
    Audio Mixer: Marcus Willett.
    Recording information: Triple Door, Seattle, WA.
    Photographer: John Jacobson.
    Though Alice Stuart's first album came out in 1964, at the height of the collegiate folk revival, the singer/songwriter sounds remarkably fresh and engaged on the live two-disc set Live at the Triple Door. Essaying standards like Willie Dixon's "Big Boss Man" and Elmore James' "Hard Time Killin' Floor" and bluesy originals like "The Man's So Good" with the sass of a cocky young girl, Stuart also weaves country and traditional folk influences into her music, plus the obligatory Bob Dylan cover. (This one's a fine, sweet-voiced take on "One Too Many Mornings," an excellent choice.) But through most of this lengthy album, it's her folk-blues side (electric, but without the grit and swagger of the Chicago style) that predominates, making it plain why Stuart is noted as a primary influence on Bonnie Raitt. That Live at the Triple Door sounds more authentically bluesy and vital than anything Raitt has done in over a quarter century is testament to Alice Stuart's talents. ~ Stewart Mason

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $25.99
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for