CD Men of Blues [Northquest] (CD 914776),
back to browsing

Men of Blues [Northquest]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I'm Gonna Find My Baby - T-Bone Walker
    2. Warehouse Man Blues - Champion Jack Dupree
    3. 2/19 Blues - Louis Armstrong
    4. Georgia Rag - Blind Willie McTell
    5. I Believe I'll Dust My Broom - Robert Johnson
    6. Roberta - Leadbelly
    7. Stone Pony Blues - Charley Patton
    8. I Feel So Good - Big Bill Broonzy
    9. Katie Mae - Lightnin' Hopkins
    10. Matchbox Blues - Blind Lemon Jefferson
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Worried Life - Big Maceo Merriweather
    2. Poor Boy a Long Ways from Home - Barbecue Bob
    3. Driftin' Blues - Charles Brown/J. Moore
    4. Hard Day Blues - Muddy Waters
    5. Mean Mistreater Blues - Tampa Red
    6. Gangster's Blues - Peetie Wheatstraw
    7. Uncle Sam Blues - Hot Lips Page
    8. Key to the Highway - Jazz Gillum
    9. Shack Bully Stomp - Peetie Wheatstraw
    10. Feel So Bad - Lightnin' Hopkins
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 212019

  • Credits

    This curious three-disc box set mixes in old blues 78s with latter rediscovery recordings to form a rather random, but pleasantly cohesive (if somewhat cursory) introduction to early blues. The wide variety of styles here is impressive, though, ranging from the guttural roars of Charley Patton and Son House, through the highly personalized blues pieces of Sleepy John Estes, the haunting tunings of Skip James, to the near-jazz urban piano blues pieces of Peetie Wheatstraw and Amos Milburn. It's not an exhaustive box set, certainly, but it would probably work fine for casual listeners looking for a representative sampling of early blues styles. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.71
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for