CD Mose Allison Sings [RVG Remasters] [Remaster] (CD 1101384),
back to browsing

Mose Allison Sings [RVG Remasters] [Remaster]

  • 1. Seventh Son, The
    2. Eyesight to the Blind
    3. Do Nothin' till You Hear From Me
    4. Lost Mind
    5. I've Got a Right to Cry
    6. Baby, Let Me Hold Your Hand
    7. Parchman Farm
    8. If You Live
    9. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
    10. One Room Country Shack
    11. I Hadn't Anyone till You
    12. Young Man's Blues
    13. That's Alright
    14. Blueberry Hill - (bonus track)
    15. Trouble in Mind - (bonus track)
    16. Creek Bank - (bonus track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 3001

  • Credits
    ProducerBob Weinstock; Esmond Edwards
    EngineerRudy VanGelder

    Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, trumpet, piano); Taylor La Fargue, Addison Farmer (upright bass); Frank Isola, Nick Stabulas, Ronnie Free (drums).
    The 2006 Rudy Van Gelder remaster of MOSE ALLISON SINGS reminds listeners that Allison was churning out great songs and performances as far back as 1957 (and that he's been doing the same ever since). The artist's distinctive mixture of blues, jazz, dynamic piano playing, and witty songwriting plays loud and clear on this early offering.
    There are fewer Allison originals than one might prefer here; instead he takes on classic blues (Willie Dixon's "Seventh Son") and jazz (Duke Ellington's "Don't Get Around Much Anymore"). But the originals that are here (like "Young Man's Blues," which was covered by the Who) are worth the price of admission. The reissue adds four tracks and a revised running order, and highlights Van Gelder's flawless production.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.09
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for