CD Prime Time [Count Basie Orchestra] (CD 185075),
back to browsing

Prime Time [Count Basie Orchestra]

  • 1. Prime Time
    2. Bundle O' Funk
    3. Sweet Georgia Brown
    4. Featherweight
    5. Reachin' Out
    6. Ja-Da
    7. Great Debate, The
    8. Ya Gotta Try
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2310-797

  • Credits
    ProducerNorman Granz
    EngineerAngel Balestier

    Personnel: Count Basie, Nat Pierce (piano); Jimmy Forrest, Eric Dixon, Danny Turner, Bobby Plater, Charlie Fowlkes (saxophone); Pete Minger, Lyn Biviano, Bobby Mitchell, Sonny Cohn (trumpet); Al Grey, Curtis Fuller, Bill Hughes, Mel Wanzo (trombone); Freddie Green (guitar); Reinie Press (electric bass); John Duke (bass); Butch Miles (drums).
    Recorded at Sun West Studios, Los Angeles, California on January 18-20, 1977.
    Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1987, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
    This 1977 release begins with a mid-tempo blues cut featuring The Count on piano, Al Grey on trombone, and Jimmy Forrest on tenor saxophone. Punchy section work and dynamic contrast set the tone for what's to come on the other seven tracks. While Basie continued to work in the big band setting until his death in 1984, his band's sound didn't change all that much. Much of this had to do with the key players (Freddie Green, Eric Dixon, Butch Miles, and others) who played on and off with the band until Basie's demise.
    There are many highlights on PRIME TIME. Whether it be Pete Minger's solo on "Reachin' Out," Butch Miles' blazing drum breaks on "Ya Gotta Try," or Sammy Nestico's smart compositions (which make up six of the album's eight tracks), PRIME TIME swings with authority and grace.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for