CD Rude Dudes (CD 867513),
back to browsing

Rude Dudes

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. (Who's Gonna Do You) Sweet Jelly Rollin' - Whistlin' Rufus
    2. Elevator Papa, Switchboard Mama - Butterbeans & Susie
    3. Boy in the Boat, The - George Hannah
    4. My Handy Man - Ethel Waters
    5. Electrician Blues - Lizzie Miles
    6. Lollypop - Hunter & Jenkins
    7. She Showed It All - Napoleon Fletcher
    8. If It Don't Fit (Don't Force It) - Barrell House Annie
    9. Take It Easy Greasy - Lil Johnson
    10. Sissy Man - Josh White
    11. Mashing That Thing - Bo Carter
    12. Let Me Play With Your Poodle - Tampa Red
    13. I'm Gonna Keep My Hair Parted - Washboard Sam
    14. Sweet Petunia - Jesse James
    15. Dirty Dozen, No. 2, The - Speckled Red
    16. We Can Sell That Thing - Roosevelt Sykes
    17. Banana in Your Fruit Basket - Bo Carter
    18. My Stove's in Good Condition - Lil Johnson
    19. He's Just My Size - Lillie Mae Kirkman
    20. Furniture Man Blues, Pt. 1 & 2 - Lonnie Johnson/Victoria Spivey
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I Wonder Who's Boogiein' My Woogie - Sam Theard
    2. If You Don't Give Me What I Want - Lil Johnson
    3. One Hour Mama - Victoria Spivey
    4. You've Got to Give Me Some - Margaret Webster
    5. Don't Tear My Clothes, No. 2 - Chicago Black Swans
    6. Terrible Operation Blues - Georgia Tom/Jane Lucas
    7. Cigarette Blues - Bo Carter
    8. Southern Can Mama - Blind Willie McTell
    9. Whats That Smells Like Fish? - Blind Boy Fuller
    10. Gas Man Blues - John Byrd/Mae Glover
    11. Hottest Stuff in Town, The - Frankie Griggs/Bobby Howe/Howe & Frank Griggs
    12. Meat Cuttin' Blues - Hunter & Jenkins
    13. My Baby (Squeeze Me Again) - Lonnie Johnson
    14. Best Jockey in Town, The - Lonnie Johnson
    15. Kitchen Man - Bessie Smith
    16. Blue Boomer Blues - Whistlin' Alex Moore
    17. My Pencil Won't Write No More - Bo Carter
    18. Ain't That a Mess - Al Miller
    19. How You Want Your Rollin' Done? - Louie Lasky
    20. My Man O' War - Lizzie Miles
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 32205

  • Credits
    ProducerPaul Swinton; Bill Wyman (Compilation)

    Includes liner notes by Neil Slaven.
    Personnel: Rufus Bridey (vocals, whistling, piano); Tampa Red (vocals, guitar, kazoo); John Byrd , Joshua White, Al Miller , Blind Boy Fuller, Blind Willie McTell, Bo Carter (vocals, guitar); Georgia Tom Dorsey, Jesse James, Roosevelt Sykes, Speckled Red, Whistlin' Alex Moore (vocals, piano); Washboard Sam (vocals, washboard); Coot Grant, Susie Hawthorne, Ethel Waters, George Hannah, Barrell House Annie, Margaret Webster, Frankie Driggs, Joe Edwards, Jane Lucas, Lil Johnson, Lillie Mae Kirkman, Lizzie Miles, Lonnie Johnson, Mae Glover, Napoleon Fletcher, Sam Theard, Victoria Spivey, Bessie Smith (vocals); Curley Weaver, Eddie Lang, Hot Box Johnson, Blind Norris, Lewis Leslie, Big Bill Broonzy (guitar); Odell Rand, Albert Nicholas, Arnett Nelson (clarinet); Charlie Holmes (alto saxophone); Bill Owsley (tenor saxophone); Henry "Red" Allen, Alfred Bell, Charlie Green (trumpet); Clarence Williams, Curtis Jones, Eddie Heywood, Harry Brooks, James P. Johnson, Luis Russell, Meade "Lux" Lewis, Walter Roland, Wesley Wilson, Big Maceo Merriweather, Black Rob (piano); Clifford "Snags" Jones (drums); Floyd Casey, Bull City Red (washboard).
    Liner Note Authors: Bill Wyman; Neil Slaven.
    Recording information: Aurora, IL (08/21/1928-02/06/1942); Chicago, IL (08/21/1928-02/06/1942); Columbia, SC (08/21/1928-02/06/1942); Dallas, TX (08/21/1928-02/06/1942); Grafton, WI (08/21/1928-02/06/1942); Illinois (08/21/1928-02/06/1942); New Orleans, LA (08/21/1928-02/06/1942); New York, NY (08/21/1928-02/06/1942); Richmond, IN (08/21/1928-02/06/1942).
    Arrangers: Clarence Williams; George Hannah.
    Since leaving the Rolling Stones in 1993, Bill Wyman has gone on a one-man crusade to promote the music he obviously loves. Wyman fronts his own blues band, the Rhythm Kings, and has been instrumental in keeping the names of both classic and obscure blues artists in the public eye through compilations like Rude Dudes. The title is somewhat misleading; there are as many "rude" women on this Document compilation as men. These risqu tracks, mainly from the '30s, include Butterbeans & Susie's "Elevator Papa, Switchboard Mama," Lil Johnson's "My Stove's in Good Condition," Speckled Red's "The Dirty Dozen, No. 2," Roosevelt Sykes' "We Can Sell That Thing," Bo Carter's "Banana in Your Fruit Basket," Victoria Spivey's "One Hour Mama," Ethel Waters' "My Handy Man," and Whistlin' Rufus' "(Whose Gonna Do Your) Sweet Jelly Rollin.'" Wyman not only co-wrote the liner notes, but also chose the 40 tunes. Part of the reason for this disc of upbeat, naughty tunes was Wyman's irritation toward people who consistently apply the blues as depressing music. In the liner notes he states, "If your friends need convincing that the blues can make you smile, play them this, but not in front of the children." ~ Al Campbell

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.49
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for