CD Shortcuts 1: God Don't Like It (CD 867402),
back to browsing

Shortcuts 1: God Don't Like It

    1. Another Fool Like Me - Jesse Thomas
    2. Flesh Crawling Blues - George Davis
    3. Lord I Can Ride - The Hall Johnson Choir
    4. Little Maggie with a Dram Glass in Her Hand - Grayson & Whitter
    5. I Can Beat You Plenty - Memphis Jug Band
    6. Wild Cow Moan - Big Joe Williams
    7. Desert Blues - Hattie Ellis/"Cowboy" Jack Ramsey
    8. Black Bottom Strut - Three Stripped Gears
    9. Sportin' Life - Ralph Willis/Brownie McGhee
    10. Rock and Roll Sermon (Pt. 1) - Elder Charles D. Beck
    11. Boar Hog Blues - Hightower's Night Hawks
    12. Mister Suzie-Q - Son House
    13. Vicksburg Blues - Little Brother Montgomery
    14. I'm on My Way - Junior Four Quartet
    15. Brown's Ferry Blues - Kirk McGee/Sam McGee
    16. King Porter Stomp - Teddy Bunn
    17. Razor Totin' Mama - Perline Ellison
    18. Hot Boogie (Too Hot to Handle) - Roosevelt Sykes
    19. God Don't Like It - Elder A. Johnson
    20. Walkin' the Streets - Lightnin' Hopkins
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 9001

  • Credits
    ProducerGary Atkinson

    Personnel: McGhee, Kirk, Jesse Babyface Thomas, Ralph Willis, Sam McGee, Son House, Big Joe Williams, Charlie Burse (vocals, guitar); Elder A. Johnson (vocals, electric guitar); Milton Robie (vocals, violin); G.B. Grayson (vocals, fiddle); Ben Ramey (vocals, kazoo); Roosevelt Sykes (vocals, piano); Junior Four Quartet, Perline Ellison, Simon Anderson , Hattie Ellis, Jab Jones, The Hall Johnson Choir, Ralph Smith (vocals); Brownie McGhee (spoken vocals, guitar); Henry Whitter, Lightnin' Hopkins, Marion Brown, Teddy Bunn (guitar); Bud Scott (banjo); Remo Biondi (violin); Fred Parham (clarinet, alto saxophone); Willie Hightower (cornet); John Lindsay (trombone); R.J. Jones, Little Brother Montgomery, Sam Price (piano); Hal West, Fred Below, Rudy Richardson, Judge Riley (drums).
    Recording information: Atlanta, GA (1927-1969); Chicago, IL (1927-1969); Dover, DE (1927-1969); Goree State Farm (1927-1969); Houston, TX (1927-1969); Los Angeles, CA (1927-1969); Memphis, TN (1927-1969); New York, NY (1927-1969); Richmond, IN (1927-1969); Rochester, NY (1927-1969).
    Unknown Contributor Role: Elder Charles D. Beck.
    Arranger: Teddy Bunn.
    This 20-track collection highlights the best of the Document label, which specializes in reissuing blues, jazz, folk, country, and gospel recordings dating from the late 19th century through the middle of the 20th. Document's catalog is swarming with unfamiliar names and fascinating recordings that many people have never heard or even imagined. During the '90s, Document's policy was to reissue 78 rpm recordings on CD regardless of sound quality, even if the surface noise made it difficult to hear the music or if the needle skipped on the old platter. Since the beginning of the 21st century, the company has changed hands and the overall quality of Document CDs released since then tends towards excellence. This compilation is guaranteed to move, amuse, entertain, and educate anyone who spends some time absorbing its contents and savoring the blend of genres and styles.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $12.11
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for