CD Smokestack Lightning: The Complete Chess Masters 1951-1960 [Box] (CD 15807475),
back to browsing

Smokestack Lightning: The Complete Chess Masters 1951-1960 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Moanin' at Midnight
    2. How Many More Years - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    3. How Many More Years
    4. Wolf Is at Your Door, The (Howlin' for My Baby)
    5. California Boogie - (previously unreleased)
    6. Smile at Me - (previously unreleased)
    7. Howlin' Wolf Boogie
    8. California Blues #1
    9. Look-a-Here
    10. Worried All the Time
    11. Gettin' Old and Grey
    12. Mr. Highway Man
    13. Everybody's in the Mood
    14. Color and Kind
    15. Bluebird (Blues)
    16. Saddle My Pony
    17. Dorothy Mae - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    18. Dorothy Mae
    19. Sweet Woman (aka I Got a Woman)
    20. Well That's All Right
    21. Decoration Day (Blues)
    22. Oh Red
    23. My Last Affair
    24. I've Got a Woman
    25. Just My Kind
    26. Work for Your Money
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I'm Not Joking
    2. Mama Died and Left Me
    3. All Night Boogie (All Night Long)
    4. I Love My Baby
    5. Highway My Friend
    6. Hold Your Money
    7. Streamline Woman
    8. California Blues #2
    9. Stay Here 'til My Baby Comes Back
    10. Crazy About You Baby
    11. No Place to Go (You Gonna Wreck My Life)
    12. You Gonna Wreck My Life (No Place to Go) - (alternate take)
    13. Neighbors
    14. I'm the Wolf
    15. Rockin' Daddy
    16. Baby How Long
    17. Evil (Is Goin' On)
    18. I'll Be Around
    19. Forty Four
    20. Who Will Be Next
    21. I Have a Little Girl
    22. Come to Me Baby
    23. Don't Mess with My Baby
    24. Smokestack Lightning
    25. You Can't Be Beat
    26. I Asked for Water (She Game Me Gasoline)
    27. So Glad
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Break of Day
    2. Natchez Burning, The
    3. Going Back Home
    4. Bluebird
    5. My Life
    6. You Ought to Know
    7. Who's Been Talking
    8. Tell Me
    9. Somebody in My Home - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    10. Somebody in My Home
    11. Nature [Takes 1, 4 & 6] - (previously unreleased, take)
    12. Nature - (alternate take)
    13. Nature
    14. Walk to Camp Hall
    15. Poor Boy - (alternate take)
    16. Poor Boy
    17. My Baby Told Me
    18. Sittin' on Top of the World
    19. I Didn't Know - (previously unreleased)
    20. I Better Go Now (Howlin' Blues) - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    21. Howlin' Blues (I'm Going Away)
    22. I Better Go Now [Multiple Takes] - (previously unreleased, take)
    23. I Didn't Know
    24. Moaning for My Baby (Midnight Blues)
    25. Moaning for My Baby (Midnight Blues) [Takes 3 & 4] - (previously unreleased, take)
    0. DISC 4:
    1. I'm Leaving You - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    2. I'm Leaving You [Takes 7-10] - (previously unreleased, take)
    3. I'm Leaving You
    4. Can't Put Me Out - (alternate take)
    5. Can't Put Me Out - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    6. (You) Can't Put Me Out
    7. Change My Way
    8. Getting Late
    9. I've Been Abused [Takes 4-12] - (previously unreleased, take)
    10. I've Been Abused
    11. Howlin' For My Baby [Takes 1-7] - (previously unreleased, take)
    12. Howlin' For My Darling (Or Baby)
    13. Wolf in the Mood
    14. My People's Gone
    15. Mr. Airplane Man [Takes 1 & 2] - (take)
    16. Mr. Airplane Man
    17. Wang-Dang-Doodle
    18. Back Door Man
    19. Spoonful
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 62734

  • Credits
    ProducerAndy McKaie

    Personnel: Howlin' Wolf (vocals, harmonica).
    Liner Note Authors: Dick Shurman; Paul Ackerman; Sam Philips; Peter Guralnick.
    Recording information: Chicago, IL (03/18/1954-06/??/1960); Memphis, TN (03/18/1954-06/??/1960); Chicago, IL (1951-1953); Memphis, TN (1951-1953).
    Photographers: Yannick Bruynoghe; Jacques Demtre; Frank Driggs; Bill Greensmith; Jody Williams; Peter Guralnick.
    After issuing Complete sets dedicated to Muddy Waters, Chuck Berry, Little Walter, and Bo Diddley, Hip-O Select finally got around to the titanic Howlin' Wolf in the fall of 2011, releasing Smokestack Lightning: The Complete Chess Masters 1951-1960, a 97-track, four-disc limited-edition box set containing everything the Wolf cut in his first decade of recording. Although the first years of the `60s treated him exceptionally well -- many classic sessions arrived in the first few years of the decade, many showcased on 1962's peerless "rocking chair" album -- this is where his legacy lies: with the spooky, primal howl that kicks off "Moanin' at Midnight" and the scores of earthy boogies and down-and-dirty grinds that followed. Smokestack Lightning stacks up plenty of alternate takes, a good chunk of them never released in the U.S., but the repetition doesn't slow the set down or turn it repetitive. Instead, the repeated alternate takes sit well with the treasures -- many justly celebrated, some unearthed -- all adding up to a testament to Howlin' Wolf's unearthly, mighty force. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

  • Critic Reviews
    Living Blues (p.69) - "The Memphis sides were raw and usually raucous and featured the ultra-distorted guitar of Willie Johnson..."
    Uncut (magazine) (p.100) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "No-one has ever sounded like Wolf, before or since....The whole package is delivered with restrained good taste..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for