CD The Classic Sides 1947-1953 [Box] (CD 1146178),
back to browsing

The Classic Sides 1947-1953 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Farewell Little Girl
    2. Broke and Hungry
    3. Illinois Central
    4. Nappy Head Woman
    5. Across the Hall Blues
    6. Walking with the Blues
    7. Sweet Lucy Blues
    8. No Whiskey Blues
    9. Jivin' Boogie
    10. Brown Skin Woman
    11. My Heavy Load
    12. Keep Your Hands Out of My Money
    13. 5 Foot 4 Gal
    14. I've Done You Wrong
    15. Roll, Tumble and Slip (I Cried)
    16. Train Time (4 O'Clock Blues)
    17. Hard Times
    18. School Days
    19. Blue Baby
    20. I Want My Baby
    21. Mud Kicking Woman
    22. Every Time I Get to Drinking
    23. Bad Times (Cost of Living)
    24. Hard Time (When Mother's Gone)
    25. Brown Skin Woman
    26. I'm Just a Lonesome Man
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Back to Korea Blues
    2. It's All Over Now
    3. Fat Man: You've Got to Stop This Mess, The
    4. Fat Man: Glad I Don't Worry No More, The
    5. Down Home Child
    6. Sunnyland Special
    7. Leaving Your Town (No Name Blues)
    8. Mary Lee
    9. I Done You Wrong
    10. Orphan Boy Blues
    11. When I Was Young (Shake It Baby)
    12. (Low Down) Sunnyland Train
    13. Ain't Nothing But a Child
    14. Brown Skinned Woman
    15. Hit the Road Again
    16. Gin Drinkin' Baby
    17. Shake It Baby
    18. Woman Trouble (Overnite)
    19. City of New Orleans
    20. When I Was Young
    21. Bassology
    22. Worried About My Baby
    23. Troubles of My Own
    24. Worried About My Baby
    25. I Done You Wrong
    26. Be My Baby
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Going Back to Memphis
    2. Devil Is a Busy Man
    3. Shake It Baby
    4. Bassology
    5. Four Day Bounce
    6. That Woman
    7. Be Mine Alone
    8. Sad and Lonesome
    9. Living in the White House
    10. Please Don't
    11. Dust My Broom
    12. Pearly B
    13. I'm Gonna Dig Myself a Hole
    14. Dust My Broom
    15. Glory for Man
    16. My Daily Wish
    17. Big World
    18. Dark Road
    19. Schooldays on My Mind
    20. Ain't Times Hard
    21. Floyd's Blues
    22. Any Old Lonesome Day
    23. Pet Rabbit
    24. Louella
    25. Late Hours at Midnight
    26. Blues Is Killin' Me
    0. DISC 4:
    1. I Wanna Play a Little While
    2. Louise
    3. Let's Roll
    4. People Are Meddlin' in Our Affairs
    5. I Have Married
    6. Mountain, The
    7. I'll Die Tryin'
    8. How Much More
    9. Mojo, The
    10. Slow Down Woman
    11. I Want My Baby
    12. How Can I Leave
    13. Ludella
    14. I'm in Love
    15. That's All Right
    16. Shame on You Baby
    17. I'm Not Satisfied
    18. Trying to Change My Ways
    19. Hard Work Boogie
    20. Your Evil Ways
    21. I Sit Up All Night
    22. State Street Blues
    23. Mother's Day
    24. Chicago Woman Blues
    25. Nervous Breakdown
    26. Old Age Has Got Me
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7783

  • Credits

    Personnel: Sunnyland Slim (vocals, piano); Floyd Jones , Johnny Shines, Leroy Foster, Robert Lockwood, Jr. (vocals, guitar).
    Sunnyland Slim recorded on a number of labels in the late 1940s and early '50s, but each of the sides he waxed represented the blues artist's dazzling skill on the ivories and his keening, resonant vocals. Fortunately, SUNNYLAND SLIM & HIS PALS--THE CLASSIC SIDES, a handsome and well-compiled box set, brings together these various recordings under one cover. Across four discs, each of which contains 26 tracks, Sunnyland Slim and his backing musicians stomp out a template for piano-driven Chicago blues that belongs in the library of any fan of the genre.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $30.03
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for