CD The Essential John Fahey [John Fahey] (CD 165623),
back to browsing

The Essential John Fahey [John Fahey]

  • 1. Yellow Princess, The
    2. View (East From the Top of the Riggs Road B & O Trestle)
    3. Lion
    4. March! For Martin Luther King
    5. Singing Bridge of Memphis, Tennessee, The
    6. Dance of the Inhabitants of the Invisible City of Bladensburg
    7. Charles A. Lee: In Memoriam
    8. Irish Setter
    9. Commemorative Transfiguration and Communion at Magruder Park
    10. Requiem For John Hurt
    11. Requiem For Russell Blaine Cooper
    12. When the Catfish Is in Bloom
    13. Fight on Christians, Fight On
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 55/56

  • Credits

    Solo performer: John Fahey (acoustic guitar).
    Additional personnel: Matt Andes (guitar); Jason Ferguson (organ, piano); Mark Andes (bass); Kevin Kelley (drums).
    Producers: John Fahey, Barry Hansen, Sam Charters.
    While the mesmerizing sound John Fahey conjures here from his steel strings meets this Maryland guitarist's typically high standards, the album title misleadingly suggests a best-of collection. It's actually a CD two-fer. The Yellow Princess, a 1969 album in its entirety, is followed by 1967 release Requia, missing only the four-part "Requiem for Molly." Essential John Fahey is not essential, but because it features this extraordinary musician solo and with a band -- members of Spirit and Jo Jo Gunne -- it could be a good place to start. ~ Mark Allan

0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: Blues
  • Label: Vanguard 55/56
  • Distributor: Welk
  • Analog/Digital: n/a
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 015707555623
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.79
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for