CD The Tradition Masters [Lightnin' Hopkins] (CD 839248),
back to browsing

The Tradition Masters [Lightnin' Hopkins]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. In the Evening, the Sun Is Going Down
    2. Trouble in Mind
    3. Mama and Papa Hopkins
    4. Foot Race Is On, The
    5. That Gambling Life
    6. When the Saints Go Marching In
    7. Get Off My Toe
    8. 75 Highway
    9. Bottle Up and Go
    10. Short Haired Woman
    11. So Long Baby
    12. Santa Fe Blues
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Long Time
    2. Rainy Day Blues
    3. Baby!
    4. Long Gone Like a Turkey Through the Corn
    5. Prison Blues Come Down on Me
    6. Backwater Blues (This Means Old Twister)
    7. Gonna Pull a Party
    8. Bluebird, Bluebird
    9. See See Rider
    10. Worrying My Mind
    11. Till the Gin Gets Here
    12. Bunion Stew
    13. You Got to Work to Get Your Pay
    14. Go Down Ol' Hannah
    15. Hear My Black Dog Bark
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1084

  • Credits
    ProducerTom Vickers (Compilation)

    Personnel: Lightnin' Hopkins (vocals, guitar); Luke "Long Gone" Miles (vocals).
    Includes liner notes by Joe Nick Patoski.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    Personnel: Lightnin' Hopkins (vocals, guitar).
    Audio Remasterer: Marco Marinangeli.
    Liner Note Author: Joe Nick Patoski.
    Lightnin' Hopkins' career, recording history, and music remain fascinating. Like John Lee Hooker, he served as a bridge between older country blues and the newer electric variety; like Hooker, he played in both styles while never losing the idiosyncratic nature of the earlier method (his electric music sounds like country blues on an electric guitar). Hopkins' long career also produced a terribly confusing discography, making the task of choosing a particular introductory disc a daunting one. The Tradition Masters, a two-disc set recorded by folklorist Mack McCormick around 1959-1960, is a good place to start for a couple of reasons. First, Hopkins is in his element here, relaxed and comfortable with the material. McCormick's desire to record him "pure and unplugged" also adds to the intensity of these sets, keeping the music focused and intimate. There are fun pieces like "Mama and Papa Hopkins" and "Get Off My Toe," and more familiar ones like "Trouble in Mind" and "See See Rider." Hopkins is joined on vocals by Luke "Long Gone" Miles on cuts like "Baby" and "Prison Blues Come Down on Me" on the second disc. The song credits are bit puzzling, with most of these pieces attributed to Hopkins and McCormick. While these songs may be arranged differently than earlier versions, it's doubtful that either party had a good excuse to take credit for "When the Saints Go Marching In." Regardless of who wrote these songs, The Tradition Masters is a fine set of pure country blues. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford Jr.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $13.11
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for