CD Three Shades Of Blues (Collectables) (CD 1149178),
back to browsing

Three Shades Of Blues (Collectables)

    1. Mama Don' Low
    2. Hot Springs, Arkansas
    3. Jelly Roll Workin' Man
    4. Black Crepe Blues
    5. Glory Bound Train
    6. Drunken Spree
    7. Special Rider Blues
    8. I Don't Want a Woman to Stay out All Night Long
    9. Love Changin' Blues
    10. Savannah Mama
    11. Talkin' to You, Mama
    12. East St. Louis
    13. Wee Midnight Hours
    14. Pal of Mine
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 6925

  • Credits
    ProducerArnold S. Caplin

    Recorded between 1949 and 1974.
    Three Shades of Blues comprises a selection of tracks cut by Bukka White, Skip James, and Blind Willie McTell, all recorded during different eras. James's tracks were made in 1964, the first he cut since 1931. James fares the worst -- he sounds unsure of himself and several of the songs are painful to listen to. The five White tracks were recorded in 1974, after he was released from prison; while his voice does sound worn, they're fascinating historical items. McTell's recordings are taken from the last commerical sessions he made in 1949, and they're more than historical curiosities -- he sounds as haunted and powerful as he ever has. ~ Thom Owens

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.27
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for