CD Years of Tears (CD 258759),
back to browsing

Years of Tears

  • 1. Somewhere Between Right & Wrong
    2. There's a Stranger in My House
    3. Hole in the Wall
    4. Years of Tears to Go
    5. Hurtin' Time Again
    6. I Just Tripped on a Piece of Your Broken Heart
    7. Sweet Lady Love
    8. Love of Mine
    9. I've Got to Have Your Love Tonight
    10. You Put the Hurt on a Hurtin' Man
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): MCD-7469

  • Credits

    Personnel: Bobby Bland (vocals); Jimmy Johnson, Will McFarlane, Kelvin Holly (guitar); Harvey Thompson (tenor saxophone); Jim Horn (baritone saxophone); Harrison Calloway, Jim Williamson, Bob Cheesman (trumpet); Charles Rose (trombone); Claton Ivey (keyboards); David Hood (bass); Roger Hawkins (drums); Thomisene Anderson, Jewel Bass, Valerie Kashimura, Frederick Knight (background vocals).
    Producers: Wolf Stephenson, Tommy Couch, Frederick Knight.
    Engineers: Steve Melton, Wolf Stephenson, Jerry Masters.
    Recorded at Muscle Shoals Sound Studios, Sheffield, Alabama and Malaco Studios, Jackson, Mississippi.
    Personnel: Bobby "Blue" Bland (vocals); Kelvin Holly, Jimmy Johnson , Will McFarlane (guitar); Harvey Thompson (tenor saxophone); Jim Horn (baritone saxophone); Harrison Calloway, Bob Cheesman, Jim Williamson (trumpet); Charles Rose (trombone); Clayton Ivey (keyboards); Roger Hawkins (drums); Frederick Knight, Jewel Bass, Thomisene Anderson, Valeria Kashimuri (background vocals).
    Recording information: Malaco Studios, Jackson, MS; Muscle Shoals Sound Studios, Sheffield, AL.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Frederick Knight; Roger Hawkins.
    This 1993 release is one of the best Bobby Bland made for Jackson, Mississippi-based Malaco Records. It was recorded at Muscle Shoals Studios, utilizing some of their superlative players, including the perfectly synched rhythm section of drummer Roger Hawkins and bassist David Hood.
    The bulk of the songs are written by such Malaco regulars as George Jackson, who penned the opening "Somewhere Between Right & Wrong," the sassy "Hole in the Wall," and the shuffling "Hurtin' Time Again," and Frederick Knight, whose "I Just Tripped on a Piece of Your Broken Heart" is the heart and center of this album. While Bland's Duke label recordings from the '50s are rightfully held up as his peaks, YEARS OF TEARS demonstrates that with the right players, production, and material, he's still a force to be reckoned with.

  • Critic Reviews
    Mojo (Publisher) (12/00, p.64) - "...Since signing with the Jackson-based label in 1985, Bland has made some 10 albums all of a consistent quality. This a good place to start."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.01
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for