CD Blake & Rice (CD 143167),
back to browsing

Blake & Rice

  • 1. New Chance Blues
    2. Green Light on the Southern
    3. I'm Not Sayin'
    4. Texas Gales
    5. Ridge Road Gravel
    6. Monroe's Hornpipe
    7. Last Train From Poor Valley
    8. New River Train
    9. Stoney Point
    10. Gonna Lay Day My Old Guitar
    11. Little Beggarman / Gilderoy
    12. Shipyard Apprentice, The
    13. Fiddler's Dram / Whiskey Before Breakfast
    14. I'm Comin' Back But I Don't Know When
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 610 233

  • Credits

    Personnel: Norman Blake (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Tony Rice (vocals, guitar).
    Like consummate musicians, for their first album together Norman Blake and Tony Rice largely ignored flash and speed in favor of songs and mood. There is some exceptional flatpicking here, but even the more manic passages are tempered by a softness that is striking, and perhaps even a little disappointing, in its modesty. Once the listener gets past the desire to hear hardcore chops, though, the album reveals its full beauty, especially in Blake's gorgeous "Last Train From Poor Valley" and Rice's cover of Gordon Lightfoot's "I'm Not Sayin'." Perky fiddle tune medleys and bluegrass standards provide some balance, but this is gentle listening throughout. ~ Jim Smith

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.46
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for