CD Blue Sky Boys [JSP] [Remaster] (CD 1146177),
back to browsing

Blue Sky Boys [JSP] [Remaster]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I'm Just Here to Get My Baby out of Jail
    2. Sunny Side of Life
    3. There'll Come a Time
    4. Where the Soul Never Dies
    5. Midnight on the Stormy Sea
    6. Take Up Thy Cross
    7. Row Us Over the Tide
    8. Down on the Banks of the Ohio
    9. I'm Troubled, I'm Troubled
    10. Dying Boy's Prayer, The
    11. No One to Welcome Me Home
    12. Didn't They Crucify My Lord
    13. Only Let Me Walk with Thee
    14. Can't You Hear That Night Bird Crying
    15. Old Account Was Settled, An
    16. Sweet Allalee
    17. You Give Me Your Love
    18. I Believe It
    19. When the Ransomed Get Home
    20. Fair Eyed Ellen
    21. Somebody Makes Me Think of You
    22. Sweet Evalina
    23. No Home
    24. What Have You Done
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Sing a Song for the Blind
    2. Within the Circle
    3. They're All Home But One
    4. Hymns My Mother Sang
    5. Have No Desire to Roam
    6. No Disappointment in Heaven
    7. Story of the Knoxville Girl
    8. On the Old Plantation
    9. In My Little Home in Tennessee
    10. Beautiful, Beautiful Brown Eyes
    11. Prisoner's Dream, The
    12. Answer to the Prisoner's Dream, The
    13. When the Stars Begin to Fall
    14. We Buried Her
    15. Heaven Holds All for Me
    16. Little Bessie
    17. I Need the Prayers
    18. Old Fashioned Meeting
    19. Katie Dear
    20. Who Wouldn't Be Lonely
    21. Life Line
    22. When the Valley Moon Was Low
    23. My Last Letter
    24. Mother Went Her Holiness Way
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Hang Out the Front Door Key
    2. This Is Like Heaven to Me
    3. I've Found a Friend
    4. Asleep in the Briny Deep
    5. Last Night While Standing by My Window
    6. There Was a Time
    7. Bring Back My Wandering Boy
    8. When the Roses Bloom in Dixieland
    9. Are You from Dixie
    10. Give Me My Roses Now
    11. House Where We Were Wed, The
    12. There's No Other Love for Me
    13. God Sent My Little Girl
    14. Someone's Last Day
    15. She'll Be There
    16. Lightning Express, The
    17. Royal Telephone, The
    18. Convict and the Rose, The
    19. Father, Dear Father, Come Home
    20. We Parted by the Riverside
    21. Only One Step More
    22. East Bound Train, The
    23. Last Mile of the Way, The
    24. She's Somebody's Darling Once More
    0. DISC 4:
    1. I'm S-A-V-E-D
    2. Whispering Hope
    3. Butcher's Boy, The
    4. This Evening Light
    5. Mary of the Wild Moor
    6. Why Not Confess
    7. Turn Your Radio On
    8. Since the Angels Took My Mother Far Away
    9. In the Hills of Roane County
    10. Kneel at the Cross
    11. Brown Eyes
    12. Short Life of Trouble
    13. Picture on the Wall, A
    14. Pictures from Life's Other Side
    15. Don't Say Goodbye If You Love Me
    16. Speak to Me Little Darling
    17. Have You Seen My Daddy Here?
    18. I Love Her More Now Mother's Old
    19. Dust on the Bible
    20. Kentucky
    21. I'm Glad (I'm Glad He's Gone and Left You)
    22. Chapel in the Hills, The
    23. Sold Down the River
    24. I'm Going to Write to Heaven (For I Know My Daddy's There)
    0. DISC 5:
    1. Come to the Saviour
    2. Garden in the Sky
    3. There's Been a Change
    4. Romans
    5. I'll Take My Saviour by the Hand
    6. I Cannot Take You Back Now
    7. Behind These Prison Walls of Love
    8. Angel Mother
    9. Let's Not Sleep Again
    10. Don't Take the Light (From My Dark Cell)
    11. Cross on the Hill, The
    12. Sweetest Gift, A Mother's Smile, The
    13. You've Branded Your Name on My Heart
    14. Little Mother of the Hills
    15. Alabama
    16. One Cold Winter's Eve
    17. Paper Boy
    18. Shake Hands with Your Mother Today
    19. When Heaven Comes Down
    20. Unfinished Rug, The
    21. Tears on Her Bridal Bouquet
    22. Lord Be with Us, Amen, The
    23. Drop Your Net
    24. New Golden Rule, The
    25. Sunny Side of Life
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7782

  • Credits

    Personnel: Earl Bolick (vocals, guitar); Bill Bolick (tenor, mandolin); L. C. Keith, Samuel Messer Parker "Curley" (fiddle).
    Liner Note Author: Pat Harrison.
    Recording information: Atlanta, GA (06/16/1936-03/26/1950); Charlotte, NC (06/16/1936-03/26/1950); New York, NY (06/16/1936-03/26/1950); Rock Hill, SC (06/16/1936-03/26/1950).
    With their fragile harmonies, spare guitar and mandolin instrumentation, and repertoire made up of gospel songs interspersed with sentimental and romantic ballads, Bill and Earl Bolick, the Blue Sky Boys, formed an important if lesser-known part of the pre- and post-World War Two surge of fraternal country vocal groups, such as the Delmore Brothers, the Louvin Brothers, and the Monroe Brothers. The duo's timeless renditions of original and traditional country and folk songs are collected on this budget-priced five-disc set, which includes examples of their pre-and post-war work in both religious and popular genres, notably their version of the traditional gospel song "The Last Mile of the Way" and their cover of the Louvin Brothers' poignant "Alabama."

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $22.24
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for