CD Bluegrass 1950-1958 [Box] [4000127154231] (CD 1233665),
back to browsing

Bluegrass 1950-1958 [Box] [4000127154231]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Bluegrass Ramble
    2. New Mule Skinner Blues
    3. My Little Georgia Rose
    4. Memories of You
    5. I'm on My Way to the Old Home
    6. Alabama Waltz
    7. I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome
    8. I'll Meet You in Church Sunday Morning
    9. Boat of Love
    10. Old Fiddler, The
    11. Uncle Pen
    12. When the Golden Leaves Begin to Fall
    13. Lord Protect My Soul
    14. River of Death
    15. Letter from My Darling
    16. On the Old Kentucky Shore
    17. Rawhide
    18. Poison Love
    19. Kentucky Waltz
    20. Prisoner's Song, The
    21. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
    22. Angels Rock Me to Sleep
    23. Brakeman's Blues
    24. Travelin' Blues
    25. When the Cactus Is in Bloom
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Sailor's Plea
    2. My Carolina Sunshine Girl
    3. Ben Dewberry's Final Run
    4. Peach Pickin' Time in Georgia
    5. Those Gambler's Blues
    6. Highway or Sorrow
    7. Rotation Blues
    8. Lonesome Truck Driver's Blues
    9. Sugar Coated Love
    10. You're Drifting Away
    11. Cabin of Love
    12. Get Down on Your Knees and Pray
    13. Christmas Time's A-Coming
    14. First Whippoorwill, The
    15. In the Pines
    16. Footprints in the Snow
    17. Walking in Jerusalem
    18. Memories of Mother and Dad
    19. Little Girl and the Dreadful Snake, The
    20. Country Waltz
    21. Don't Put Off Till Tomorrow
    22. My Dying Bed
    23. Mighty Pretty Waltz, A
    24. Pike County Breakdown
    25. Wishing Waltz
    26. I Hope You Have Learned
    27. Get Up John
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Sitting Alone in the Moonlight
    2. Plant Some Flowers on My Grave
    3. Changing Partners
    4. Y'all Come
    5. On and On
    6. I Believed in You Darling
    7. New John Henry
    8. White House Blues
    9. Happy on My Way
    10. I'm Working on a Building
    11. Voice from on High, A
    12. He Will Set Your Fields on Fire
    13. Close By
    14. My Little Georgia Rose
    15. Put My Little Shoes Away
    16. Blue Moon of Kentucky
    17. Wheel Hoss
    18. Cheyenne
    19. You'll Find Her Name Written There
    20. Roanoke
    21. Wait a Little Longer Please Jesus
    22. Let the Light Shine Down on Me
    23. Used to Be
    24. Tall Timber
    25. Brown County Breakdown
    26. Fallen Star, A
    27. Four Walls
    28. Good Woman's Love, A
    29. Cry, Cry Darling
    30. I'm Sitting on Top of the World
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Out in the Cold World
    2. Roane County Prison
    3. Goodbye Old Pal
    4. In Despair
    5. Molly and Tenbrooks
    6. Come Back to Me in My Dreams
    7. Sally Joe
    8. Brand New Shoes
    9. Lonesome Road to Travel, A
    10. I Saw the Light
    11. Lord, Build Me a Cabin in Glory
    12. Lord, Lead Me On
    13. Precious Memories
    14. I'll Meet You in the Morning
    15. Life's Railway to Heaven
    16. I've Found a Hiding Place
    17. Jesus, Hold My Hand
    18. I Am a Pilgrim
    19. Wayfaring Stranger
    20. Beautiful Life, A
    21. House of Gold
    22. Panhandle Country
    23. Scotland
    24. Gotta Travel On
    25. No One But My Darlin'
    26. Big Moon
    27. Monroe's Hornpipe
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 15423

  • Credits

    BLUEGRASS (1950-1958) is a 4-disc set containing 109 recordings. It includes a 65-page book with detailed discography and personnel listing.
    Personnel: Bill Monroe (mandolin); Charlie Cline (guitar, fiddle); James H. Martin, Claude J. Phelps, Thomas Grady Martin, Jimmy Selph, Lester Sandy, Loren Otis Shook, Carter Stanley, Douglas Kershaw, Edd Mayfield, Vernon Crawford Cook (guitar); James Ora Bowers, Rudy Lyle, Sonny Osborne, Jim Smoak, Hubert Davis, Joe Stuart, Don Stover, Joe Drumright, Robert Lee Pennington (banjo); Vassar Clements, Merle Taylor, Bobby Hicks, Thomas Jackson, James Smith, Dale Potter, Gordon Terry, Kenny Baker (fiddle); Owen Bradley (piano, organ, vibraphone); Oscar Sheehan, Joel Price, Ernest Newton, William D. Killen, Bessie Lee Maudlin, Jimmy Elrod, Howard Watts, Culley Holt (bass); Farris Coursey (drums).
    Producers: Owen Bradley, Paul Cohen.
    Compilation producer: Richard Weize.
    Recorded between February 3, 1950 and December 1, 1958. Includes liner notes by Neil V. Rosenberg and Charles K. Wolfe.
    Personnel: Bill Monroe (vocals, tenor, mandolin); Edd Mayfield (vocals, tenor, guitar); Rudy Lyle (vocals, baritone, banjo); Kenny Baker (vocals, baritone, fiddle); Milton Estes, Boudleaux Bryant (vocals, bass voice); Joe Stuart (vocals, guitar, banjo, fiddle); Joel Price (baritone, bass voice); Don Stover (baritone, banjo); Bobby Hicks , Charlie Cline (baritone, fiddle); Gordon Terry (bass voice, fiddle); Culley Holt, Birch Monroe, Buddy Killen (bass voice); Jack Shook, Doug Kershaw, Jimmy Selph, Carter Stanley (guitar); Grady Martin (electric guitar); James Ora Bowers, Hubert Davis, Joe Drumright, Roland "Sonny" Osborne, Jim Smoak (banjo); James "Hal" Smith , Thomas Lee Jackson Jr., Dale Potter, Merle "Red" Taylor, Vassar Clements (fiddle); Owen Bradley (piano, organ, background vocals); Farris Coursey (drums).
    Audio Mixer: John Strother.
    Liner Note Authors: Charles K. Wolfe; Neil V. Rosenberg.
    Recording information: Bradley Film & Recording, Nashville, TN (02/03/1950-12/01/1958); Bradley Studio, Hillsboro Village, Nashville, TN (02/03/1950-12/01/1958); Bradley Studio, Nashville, TN (02/03/1950-12/01/1958); Castle Studio, Nashville, TN (02/03/1950-12/01/1958); Castle Studio, Tulane Hotel, Nashville, TN (02/03/1950-12/01/1958).
    Illustrators: Charles K. Wolfe; David Freeman ; Ann Streeter; R.A. Andreas; Gordon Terry; Eberhard Finke; Jimmy Martin ; Pete Kuykendall; Neil V. Rosenberg; Robert K. Oermann.
    Photographers: Charles K. Wolfe; David Freeman ; Ann Streeter; Jrgen Feuss; R.A. Andreas; Gordon Terry; Tennessean; Eberhard Finke; Jimmy Martin ; Richard Weize; Pete Kuykendall; Neil V. Rosenberg; Robert K. Oermann.
    The 50's were a benchmark period for Bill Monroe, an era during which he recorded many of the songs on which his legendary stature rests. Monroe's band in the 50's also served as a training ground for future bluegrass legends, including guitarist/singer Jimmy Martin, fiddlers Vassar Clements, Charlie Cline, and Gordon Terry, and banjo players Sonny Osborne and Don Stover. Bear Family Records, a German archival label, has compiled all of Monroe's recordings of this era with their usual care and respect for the material.
    Monroe's exacting standards ensure that nearly all the tracks here bear up to repeated listening. Not all of Monroe's 50's work, however, is worth preserving; his failed efforts to incorporate organ into the bluegrass sound, for example, would be better forgotten. For every miscue on this four-disc set, however, there are a dozen masterpieces like "Walking In Jerusalem," "Footprints in the Snow," "Uncle Pen," and "Wayfaring Stranger." Meticulous mastering and annotation round out a stellar package that belongs in the collection of any serious bluegrass fan.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $50.39
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for