CD Bluegrass 1970-1979 (CD 1063919),
back to browsing

Bluegrass 1970-1979

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. McKinley's March
    2. Texas Gallop
    3. Road of Life
    4. It's Me Again Lord
    5. Beyond the Gate
    6. I Will Sing for the Glory of God
    7. Kentucky Waltz
    8. Girl in the Blue Velvet Band, The
    9. Lonesome Moonlight Waltz
    10. Tallahassee
    11. Get Up John
    12. Summertime Is Past and Gone
    13. Rocky Road Blues
    14. Mule Skinner Blues
    15. Poor White Folks
    16. Old Gray Mare Came Tearing Out of the Wilderness, The
    17. Kiss Me Waltz
    18. Jenny Lynn
    19. Heel and Toe Polka
    20. Milenburg Joy
    21. Sweetheart You Done Me Wrong
    22. Banks of the Ohio
    23. Tall Pines
    24. Mother's Only Sleeping
    25. Foggy Mountain Top
    26. Love Please Come Home
    27. What Would You Give in Exchange
    28. When the Golden Leaves Begin to Fall
    29. Walls of Time
    30. My Old Kentucky and You
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Hit Parade of Love
    2. Mary Ann
    3. Sunny Side of the Mountain
    4. Freeborn Man
    5. Tennessee
    6. Love Please Come Home
    7. Train '45
    8. Bonny
    9. When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again
    10. Ole Slewfoot
    11. Sweet Little Miss Blue Eyes
    12. Please Be My Love
    13. I Wish You Knew
    14. Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms
    15. Feudin' Banjos
    16. Ballad of Jed Clampett
    17. Mule Skinner Blues
    18. You Won't Be Satisfied That Way
    19. Uncle Pen
    20. Blue Moon of Kentucky
    21. Roll on Buddy, Roll On
    22. I Wonder Where You Are Tonight
    23. Orange Blossom Special
    24. Down Yonder
    25. Soldier's Joy
    26. Grey Eagle
    27. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Clinging to a Saving Hand
    2. Show Me the Way
    3. Jerusalem Ridge
    4. Ashland Breakdown
    5. Mary Jane, Won't You Be Mine
    6. Old, Old House
    7. Watson Blues
    8. Thank God for Kentucky
    9. Reasons Why
    10. Weary Traveler
    11. My Cabin in Caroline
    12. No Place to Pillow My Head
    13. My Sweet Blue-Eyed Darlin'
    14. Monroe's Blues
    15. First Whippoorwill, The
    16. Lucky Lady
    17. My Louisiana Love
    18. Christmas Time's A-Coming
    19. Texas Blue Bonnet
    20. Sunset Trail, The
    21. My Sweet Memory
    22. She's Young and I'm Growing Old
    23. Blue Goose
    0. DISC 4:
    1. That's Christmas Time to Me
    2. Pinewood Valley
    3. My Florida Sunshine
    4. Wabash Cannonball
    5. Hard Times Have Been Here (But They've Gone)
    6. Six Feet Under the Ground
    7. Who's Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet
    8. Jake Satterfield
    9. Muddy Waters
    10. Corrina, Corrina
    11. Have a Feast Here Tonight
    12. Golden River
    13. I'm Going Back to Old Kentucky
    14. Those Memories of You
    15. Intro (Watermelon Hangin' on the Vine)
    16. Rocky Road Blues
    17. Little Girl and the Dreadful Snake, The
    18. In Despair
    19. Molly and Tenbrooks Medley: Little Maggie/Train 45/Blue Moon of ...
    20. John Henry
    21. Dog House Blues
    22. Old Mountaineer, The
    23. Little Cabin Home on the Hill
    24. Orange Blossom Special
    25. Y'all Come
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 15606

  • Credits
    ProducerHarry Silverstein; Ron Chancey; Snuffy Miller; Walter Haynes; Richard Weize (Reissue)

    Adapter: Jay Farrar.
    Personnel: Bill Monroe (tenor, mandolin); Jim McReynolds (vocals, tenor, guitar); James Monroe , Lester Flatt (vocals, guitar); Jesse McReynolds (vocals, mandolin); Fowler, J.D. Martin, Lewis (vocals); Kenny Ingram (baritone, banjo); Davis , Jordan, Hicks (baritone); Culley Holt, Martin (bass voice); Gordon Terry, Joe Stuart (guitar, fiddle); Curly Seckler, Wayne Lewis , Robert "Bob" Fowler, Jimmy Martin (guitar); Charles M. "Charlie" Nixon (dobro); Jack Hicks, Robert Wilson Black, Earl Snead, Haskell D. McCormick, Victor H. Jordan, Bill Holden, Alan O'Bryant, Marc Pruett, Carl Jackson (banjo); Marty Stuart (mandolin); Clarence "Tater" Tate, Joe Meadows, Curley Ray Cline, Tommy Williams Jr., Hubert Duane "Hoot" Hester, Paul Mullins, James Bryan , Jim Brock, Joe Hayes, Kenny Baker , Randall Collins, Tex Logan, Blaine Sprouse, Buddy Spicher (fiddle); Ray W. Martin (electric bass); Walter Haynes (bells).
    Liner Note Author: Charles K. Wolfe.
    Recording information: Bill Monroe's Brown County Jamboree, Bean Blossom, IN (01/19/1970-06/16/1979); Bradley's Barn, Mount Juliet, TN (01/19/1970-06/16/1979).
    Illustrators: Jerry Strobel; Les Leverett; R.A. Andreas.
    Photographers: Jerry Strobel; Les Leverett; R.A. Andreas.
    Arranger: Jay Farrar.
    Bluegrass (1970-1979) is a four-disc box set containing all of Monroe's '70s recordings for Decca, including several unreleased cuts and a live album featuring Jim & Jesse, James Monroe, Jimmy Martin, Lester Flatt, and Carl Jackson. By the time he made these recordings, Monroe was no longer making any innovations with his music. Instead, he just demonstrated his skill and artistry -- the music on Bluegrass (1970-1979) is for afficianados, the kind of listener that can discern subtle differences between supporting bands and solos. Overall, the material on the box isn't as strong as the previous two box sets, but any Monroe completist will not be disappointed by the set. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for