CD Bootleg, Vol. 3: Live Around the World (CD 15649707),
back to browsing

Bootleg, Vol. 3: Live Around the World

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. So Doggone Lonesome
    2. I Walk the Line
    3. Get Rhythm
    4. Country Boy
    5. I Still Miss Someone
    6. Cotton Fields
    7. I Walk the Line
    8. Luther's Boogie
    9. Impressions
    10. Rock Island Line
    11. Rebel--Johnny Yuma, The
    12. Introduction
    13. Big River
    14. Folsom Prison Blues
    15. I Still Miss Someone
    16. Rock Island Line
    17. Don't Think Twice, It's Alright
    18. I Walk the Line
    19. Ballad of Ira Hayes
    20. Keep On the Sunny Side
    21. Big River
    22. Wreck of the Old `97
    23. Tennessee Flat Top Box
    24. Remember the Alamo
    25. Cocaine Blues
    26. Orange Blossom Special
    27. Jackson
    28. Long-Legged Guitar Pickin' Man
    29. Ring of Fire
    30. Daddy Sang Bass
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Introduction
    2. A Boy Named Sue
    3. Five Feet High and Rising
    4. Pickin' Time
    5. Wreck of the Old `97
    6. Lumberjack
    7. Jesus Was a Carpenter
    8. What is Truth
    9. (There'll Be) Peace In the Valley (For Me)
    10. He Turned the Water Into Wine
    11. Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord)
    12. Daddy Sang Bass
    13. Old Account, The
    14. Sunday Morning Comin' Down
    15. Prisoner's Song, The
    16. That Silver Haired Daddy of Mine
    17. City of New Orleans
    18. Ragged Old Flag
    19. One Piece At a Time
    20. Hey Porter
    21. There You Go
    22. Give My Love To Rose
    23. (Ghost) Riders In the Sky
    24. I'm Just an Old Chunk of Coal
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 793033

  • Credits
    ProducerSteve Berkowitz (Compilation); Gregg Geller (Compilation)
    EngineerLeon Kagarise

    Personnel: Robert Johnson Lee , Joe Lee (programming).
    Audio Mixers: Robert Johnson Lee ; Joe Lee .
    Liner Note Author: Dave Marsh .
    Editors: Robert Johnson Lee ; Joe Lee .
    Photographers: Don Hunstein; Sandy Speiser; John Hamilton; JT Phillips; Leon Kagarise.
    You've got to be a Johnny Cash fan to truly appreciate what's happening on the third volume in Legacy's Bootleg series Live Around the World. This double-disc collection contains 53 tracks culled from 23 years, 1956 to 1979. The heart of its performances are from the Newport Folk Festival in 1964; a show for the troops in Long Binh, Vietnam in 1969; for Richard Nixon at the White House in 1970, and at the Osteraker Prison in Sweden in 1972. The sound varies in quality but the selection is stellar. The disc starts with songs from his earliest days at the Big "D" Jamboree in Dallas (with the Perkins Brothers), with Cash playing early versions of "I Walk the Line" and "Get Rhythm." The nervousness in the former tune is notable: Cash hums between verses to make sure he's on pitch. Three years later, he was imbuing his song choices with authority, even as he presented himself with humility to his audience. His version of "Cotton Fields" sounds like the taste of bitter memory more than of longing nostalgia. From the Newport gig (introduced by Pete Seeger), Cash is without drums but has plenty of electric guitar. The version of "Folsom Prison Blues" is one of the best on record. Cash introduces "Don't Think Twice It's Alright" with a hearty endorsement of Bob Dylan. The Vietnam show is all audience requests, performed when Cash had pneumonia. There are killer renditions of "Cocaine Blues," and "Jackson" in duet with with June Carter Cash. Disc two begins with a long, patronizing introduction by Nixon. Cash rises to the occasion without condescending to the audience by playing his then-current hit ("A Boy Named Sue"), his own "Five Feet High and Risin'," and Leon Payne's "Lumberjack" before launching into a set of country-gospel tunes backed by his band, the Carter Family, and the Statler Brothers. The prison gig in Sweden has him delivering a knock-out, uptempo take of Kris Kristofferson's "Sunday Morning Comin' Down" and a devastating read of the traditional "The Prisoner's Song," with a moving spoken intro. Playing Steve Goodman's "City of New Orleans" for a Columbia Records' convention, and the closing, honky tonk, piano-driven read of Billy Joe Shaver's "I'm Just an Old Chunk of Coal," from the Nashville Inn in 1979, underscore who and what Cash is: a free and egalitarian citizen and keeper of American song's flame. From folk to country, from past to present, his complex persona exemplifies his rare ability to stand and deliver to every audience, not only in the way they wanted him to but also, perhaps, in the way the needed him to. Bootleg, Vol. 3 showcases what we already know (intellectually, at least) about Cash in a very emotional and visceral way. ~ Thom Jurek

  • Critic Reviews
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.92) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The Washington show is an especially joyous occasion....Cash strums his way into America's culture and history, the collection also featuring his contribution to 1964's Newport Folk Festival..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.95
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for