CD Borderland [Tom Russell] (CD 69649),
back to browsing

Borderland [Tom Russell]

  • 1. Touch of Evil, A
    2. Down the Rio Grande
    3. When Sinatra Played Juarez
    4. Where the Dream Begins
    5. Hills of Old Juarez, The
    6. Santa Fe at Midnight, The
    7. Let It Go
    8. California Snow
    9. Next Thing Smokin', The
    10. What Work Is
    11. Road It Gives, The Road It Takes Away, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): HCD8132

  • Credits
    ProducerGurf Morlix

    Personnel includes: Tom Russell (vocals, guitar); Eliza Gilkyson (vocals); Andrew Hardin (guitar); Gurf Morlix (slide guitar, bass); Joel Guzman (accordion); Ian McLagan (Hammond B3 organ); Jimmy LaFave (background vocals).
    Recorded at Rootball Studios. Austin, Texas in December 2000 and January 2001.
    Tom Russell proves once again to be perhaps the finest American folk-roots artist that most Americans never heard of. The title of this latest collection reflects a focus on the El Paso-Juarez area, but also on emotional geography and the borders between a man and a woman. Some of the skillfully told stories are clearly autobiographical; all of them paint detailed, memorable portraits. Russell is singing and playing as well as ever here, but he gets an added boost on this disc from producer Gurf Morlix, who has filled the same role for Lucinda Williams and Robert Earl Keen. Morlix helped pick the songs and the band -- which includes such standouts as accordionist Joel Guzman and longtime Russell cohort Andrew Hardin on guitar -- and put them all to good use in a production that keeps Russell's world-weary voice front and center. ~ Jeff Burger

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (11/01, p.126) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...He's a songwriter of rare imagination..."
    No Depression (5-6/01, p.125) - "...11 finely honed vignettes...Tex-Mex, edgy folk, and a little electric rock....Russell focuses around the action of his new home on the El Paso/Juarez frontier..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.61
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for