CD Classic Sides 1924-1938 [Box] (CD 1058978),
back to browsing

Classic Sides 1924-1938 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Keep My Skillet Good and Greasy
    2. Down by the River
    3. Run
    4. Old Dan Tucker
    5. Station Will Be Changed After a While
    6. Going Across the Sea
    7. Watermelon Smilin' on the Vine
    8. All Go Hungry Hash House
    9. Old Ship of Zion
    10. Rise When the Rooster Crows
    11. Way Down the Old Plank Road
    12. Bible's True, The
    13. Late Last Night When My Willie Comes Home
    14. I've Got the Morning Blues
    15. Death of John Henry (Steel Driving Man)
    16. On the Dixie Bee Line (In That Henry Ford of Mine)
    17. Whoop 'Em Up Cindy
    18. Only as Far as the Gate Dear Ma
    19. Poor Sinners, Fare You Well
    20. Old Ties
    21. We Are Up Against It Now
    22. Uncle Dave's Beloved Solo
    23. Old Man's Drunk Again, The
    24. Stop That Knocking at My Door
    25. Sassy Sam
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Sourwood Mountain Medley
    2. Deliverance Will Come
    3. Wouldn't Give Me Sugar in My Coffee
    4. Kissin' on the Sly
    5. Hold Onto the Sleigh
    6. Cross-Eyed Butcher and the Cacklin' Hen, The
    7. Arcade Blues
    8. Diamond in the Rough
    9. Sho' Fly, Don't Bother Me
    10. Bake That Chicken Pie
    11. Rock About My Saro Jane
    12. Tell Her to Come Back Home
    13. Hold That Woodpile Down
    14. Carve That Possum
    15. Hop High Ladies, The Cake's All Dough
    16. Sail Away Ladies
    17. I'm A-Goin' Away in the Morn
    18. Sleepy Lou
    19. Grey Cat on the Tennessee Farm
    20. Walk Tom Wilson, Walk
    21. I's Gwine Back to Dixie
    22. Go Along Mule
    23. Tom and Jerry
    24. Rabbit in the Pea Patch
    25. Jordan Is a Hard Road to Travel
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Are You Washed in the Blood of the Lamb
    2. Maple on the Hill
    3. Walking in the Sunlight
    4. Shall We Gather at the River
    5. Molly Married a Traveling Man
    6. When Reubin Comes to Town
    7. You've Been a Friend to Me
    8. More Like Your Dad Every Day
    9. I'll Never Go There Any More (The Bowery)
    10. From Earth to Heaven
    11. Buddy Won't You Roll Down the Line
    12. Worthy of Estimation
    13. I'm the Child to Fight
    14. Over the Road I'm Bound to Go
    15. New Ford Car, The
    16. Gal That Got Stuck on Everything She Said, The
    17. Comin' Round the Mountain
    18. Governor Al Smith
    19. Darling Zelma Lee
    20. Life and Death of Jesse James
    21. Man That Rode the Mule Around the World
    22. Tennessee Jubilee
    23. For Goodness Sakes Don't Say I Told You So
    24. Susie Lee
    25. Farm Relief
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Uncle Dave's Travels, Pt. 3 (In and Around Nashville)
    2. Since Baby's Learned to Talk
    3. Uncle Dave's Travels, Pt. 4 (Visit at the Old Maid's)
    4. Over the Mountain
    5. Uncle Dave's Travels, Pt. 1 (Misery in Arkansas)
    6. Uncle Dave's Travels, Pt. 2 (Around Louisville, Kentucky)
    7. Tennessee Red Fox Chase
    8. Wreck of the Tennessee Gravy Train
    9. Oh Baby, You Done Me Wrong
    10. She's Got the Money Too
    11. Mysteries of the World
    12. He's Up With the Angels Now
    13. When the Harvest Days Are Over
    14. I'll Tickle Nancy
    15. I'll Keep My Skillet Good and Greasy
    16. All in Down and Out Blues
    17. Honest Confession Is Good for the Soul
    18. Bum Hotel, The
    19. Two in One, Chewing Gum
    20. Country Ham and Red Gravy
    21. Summertime on the Beeno Line
    22. Peek - A - Boo
    23. My Daughter Wished to Marry
    24. Cumberland Mountain Deer Race
    25. Gayest Old Dude That's Out, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7729

  • Credits

    Personnel: Uncle Dave Macon (vocals, banjo); Sam McGee (vocals, guitar, banjo); Smoky Mountain Glenn, Alton Delmore, Rabon Delmore, Sid Harkreader (vocals, guitar); Kirk McGee (vocals, mandolin, fiddle); McGee Brothers (vocals); Mazy Todd (fiddle).
    Liner Note Author: Pat Harrison.
    Recording information: Charlotte, NC (07/08/1924-01/26/1938); Chicago, IL (07/08/1924-01/26/1938); Jackson, MS (07/08/1924-01/26/1938); New Orleans, LA (07/08/1924-01/26/1938); New York, NY (07/08/1924-01/26/1938); Richmond, IN (07/08/1924-01/26/1938).
    Born less than half-a-decade after the end of the Civil War and performing well into the 1950s, Uncle Dave Macon was the link between the original roots of modern country music and the next generation of performers led by the Carter Family. Although Macon did not begin his professional career until the 1920s, much of his repertoire consisted of songs he must have first heard as a young man in Tennessee, including blackface minstrel tunes, gospel, work songs, comic banjo workouts, and traditional folk tunes like his early signature song "Keep My Skillet Good and Greasy." Presented chronologically from Macon's first 1924 sessions on the Vocalion label until the end of the '30s, his most prolific period, this is the only Uncle Dave Macon the casual listener needs. (As a rule, Macon's sporadic later recordings are much weaker reiterations of songs covered on this set.) The 100 tracks on the four-disc Classic Sides 1924-1938 are sort of like the country version of Charley Patton's Screamin' and Hollerin' the Blues: this isn't so much country music as it is the raw material from which country music was formed. ~ Stewart Mason

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for