CD Complete Sun Masters [Box] [Charlie Rich] (CD 4445216),
back to browsing

Complete Sun Masters [Box] [Charlie Rich]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Whirlwind
    2. Philadelphia Baby
    3. Rebound
    4. Big Man
    5. Lonely Weekends
    6. Everything I Do is Wrong
    7. School Days
    8. Gonna Be Waitin'
    9. On My Knees
    10. Stay
    11. Who Will the Next Fool Be?
    12. Caught In the Middle
    13. Just a Little Bit Sweet
    14. It's Too Late
    15. Easy Money
    16. Midnight Blues
    17. Sittin' and Thinkin'
    18. Finally Found Out
    19. There's Another Place I Can't Go
    20. I Need Your Love
    21. Sad News
    22. Red Man
    23. C.C. Rider
    24. Come Back
    25. Apple Blossom Times
    26. Break Up
    27. That's How Much I Love You
    28. Juanita
    29. Whirlwind
    30. School Days
    31. It's Too Late
    32. Come Back
    0. DISC 2:
    1. My Baby Done Left Me
    2. Charlie's Boogie
    3. Blue Suede Shoes
    4. Juicehead Baby
    5. Baby, I Need You
    6. Oh, Lonely Days
    7. Portrait of My Love
    8. Seven Dreams - (previously unreleased)
    9. Waiting All Alone - (previously unreleased)
    10. Ways of a Woman In Love, The
    11. Thanks a Lot
    12. It Hurt Me So
    13. Donna Lee
    14. Never Mind Little Girl - (previously unreleased)
    15. I Love No One But You
    16. Deep Freeze
    17. Popcorn Polly
    18. Give In
    19. Those Places Round Town
    20. Sail Away
    21. Am I To Be the One? - (featuring Jerry Lee Lewis)
    22. Jeannie With the Light Brown Hair
    23. Unchained Melody
    24. I've Lost My Heart To You
    25. My Heart Cries For You
    26. Right Behind You Baby
    27. Loneliest Days, The
    28. Lonely Hurt Within
    29. Now Everybody Knows
    30. Don't Put No Headstone On My Grave
    31. That's Rich
    32. Time and Again
    33. Goodbye, Mary Ann
    34. Gentle As a Lamb
    35. Rock & Roll Party
    36. You Never Know About Love
    37. Lonely Weekends [Alternate] - (alternate take)
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Little Woman Friend of Mine
    2. Time's a-Wasting
    3. You Made a Hit
    4. Yes, Ma'am
    5. Stop Thief
    6. What's My Name?
    7. How Blue Can You Be?
    8. I Said Baby
    9. Cloud Nine
    10. Ain't It a Shame?
    11. Wedding is Over, The
    12. Unsuspecting Me - (previously unreleased)
    13. If You Knew
    14. Somehow We'll Find a Way - (previously unreleased)
    15. Every Day (and Every Night)
    16. There Won't Be Anymore
    17. Closed For Repair - (previously unreleased)
    18. (We Belong To) Each Other - (previously unreleased)
    19. Untitled Instrumental
    20. Long Way To Tennessee
    21. Every Day (That You're Away From Me)
    22. Baby, I Need You
    23. When
    24. My Mountain Dew - (previously unreleased)
    25. Graveyardville
    26. Ballad of Billy Joe [Undubbed]
    27. Since You Said Goodbye - (previously unreleased)
    28. Too Many Tears
    29. Little By Little - (previously unreleased)
    30. Life is a Flower
    31. I'm Making Plans
    32. Stop Fakin' Your Love [Alternate] - (alternate take)
    33. Sail Away
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SNAJ 744 CD

  • Credits

    Long before before he reached his greatest success as Nashville's smooth "Silver Fox" in the '70s, singer-pianist Charlie Rich was one of the more intriguing rockabilly artists on Sam Phillips's Sun label. (Phillips himself considered Rich to be the most talented artist of his roster). THE COMPLETE SUN MASTERS gathers all the recordings that Rich cut for Sun between 1958 and 1962. Even starting out, Charlie Rich was a little more mature, a little suaver, more downright soulful than his fellow rockabillies, including that other piano-pumper Jerry Lee Lewis, boppin' Carl Perkins, Johnny Cash, Billy Lee Riley, and all the others. (Elvis Presley, whom Rich strongly resembles vocally, had long since left the label). Still, as his first hit, "Lonely Weekend," and other tracks like "Breakup" and "Rebound" clearly demonstrate, Rich rocked with the best of them. Clearly more black-gospel influenced than his contemporaries (except for Elvis, of course), medium tempo numbers like "Who Will The Next Fool Be?" and "Sittin' and Thinkin'" point the way to the future.

  • Critic Reviews
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.94) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The 102 tracks here, mostly recorded for the Sun subsidiary Phillips International, offer a complete picture of a genuinely gifted performer..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $19.80
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for