CD Greatest Country Hits [Digipak] (CD 6238306),
back to browsing

Greatest Country Hits [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Indian Love Call
    2. Love Song of the Waterfall
    3. Keep It a Secret
    4. My Hear Is Broken in Three
    5. North Wind
    6. Secret Love
    7. Rose-Marie
    8. Singing Hills
    9. Cattle Call
    10. More Than Yesterday
    11. Twelfth of Never, The
    12. I Remember You
    13. Rainbows Are Back in Style
    14. Guess Who?
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Something Beautiful (To Remember)
    2. Bells That Broke My Heart, The
    3. Happy Street
    4. Tomorrow Never Comes
    5. Shutters and Boards
    6. It's a Sin to Tell a Lie
    7. Tell Me Pretty Words
    8. My Happiness
    9. One Dream
    10. What's This World a Comin' To
    11. Loveliest Night of the Year
    12. I'm a Fool
    13. Irresistible
    14. It's No Sin
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 055

  • Credits
    ProducerJeff Magid (Compilation)

    Audio Remasterer: Dave Donnelly .
    Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
    There could only ever be one Slim Whitman. A left-handed guitar player with an arresting falsetto vocal style that sounds eerily like Johnny Mathis blended with Roy Orbison, Whitman fell to the western side of country music, but he also had an odd pop sensibility, too, and his most memorable recordings are a fascinating mesh of motifs, whether Whitman intended it that way or not. Helped immeasurably by Thomas "Hoot" Rains, whose fluid slide steel runs provided an achingly chilly complement to Whitman's unforgettable falsetto vocal lines, songs like 1951's "Love Song of the Waterfall" and 1952's "Indian Love Call" are decidedly postmodern recordings that sound like they belong to the soundtrack of some Hollywood western shot half underwater and half from outer space. But Whitman wasn't a on- trick sideshow pony, and he could sing like a beautifully errant angel, as his gorgeous version of Mathis' "The Twelfth of Never" makes clear. All three of these unique sides are included in this fine two-disc survey of Whitman's career from 1951 to 1971, along with other Whitman gems like "Rose-Marie," "Tell Me Pretty Words," and the folky ragtime of "What's This World a Comin' To." With 28 tracks, everything essential is here. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.25
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for