CD Hills of Home: 25 Years of Folk Music on Rounder Records (CD 147705),
back to browsing

Hills of Home: 25 Years of Folk Music on Rounder Records

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Do-Re-Mi - Woody Guthrie
    2. Where the Old Red River Flows - The Whitstein Brothers
    3. Church Street Blues - Norman Blake
    4. Worried Blues - Mississippi John Hurt
    5. Joliet Bound - Rory Block
    6. J'Etais au Bal - LeJeune/Menard/Smith
    7. Annie Is My Darling Medley / The Red Shoes - Joseph Cormier
    8. Sly Old Crow / Old Blair Store - John McCutcheon
    9. Midnight on the Stormy Deep - The Tony Rice Unit
    10. Corazon Viajero - Tish Hinojosa
    11. Come All You Fair and Tender Maidens - David Bromberg
    12. Sweet Lucy - Michael Hurley & the Holy Modal Rounders
    13. One Dime Blues - Etta Baker
    14. Talk About Sufferin' - Ricky Skaggs
    15. Troubles, Trials, Tribulations - E.C. and Orna Ball
    16. Silver Bell - Country Cooking
    17. Memory of Your Smile, The - Mike Seeger/Maria Muldaur/David Grisman
    18. Never Will Give Up - Alison Krauss & the Cox Family
    19. Reels: The Pure Drop / The Flax In Bloom - Pierre Bensusan
    20. Night Herding Song - Skip Gorman
    0. DISC 2:
    1. John Hardy - Leadbelly
    2. Duncan & Brady - The Johnson Mountain Boys
    3. Old Country Stomp - Jody Stecher/Kate Brislin
    4. College Hornpipe - Mark O'Connor
    5. Looking For Money - The Chicken Chokers
    6. Going Back to Old Virginia - Crowe & McLaughlin
    7. Hills of Home - Hazel Dickens
    8. I'm Out on the Ocean a-Sailing - Lesley Riddle
    9. She Did You a Favor - Roy Book Binder
    10. My Babe - Mississippi Fred McDowell
    11. Racetrack Blues - Nashville Jug Band
    12. Aloha Means I Love You - The Tau Moe Family
    13. Bill Cheatham - Bla Fleck/Bill Keith/Tony Trischka
    14. High on a Mountain - Ola Belle Reed
    15. I Caught a Keeper - Barry & Holly Tashian
    16. I Ride an Old Paint - Riders in the Sky
    17. Baby Please Don't Go - Bill Morrissey/Greg Brown
    18. Killing the Blues - Woodstock Mountain Revue
    19. I'll Never Go Back - The Louvin Brothers
    20. Who Will Watch the Home Place - Laurie Lewis
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 618 516

  • Credits
    ProducerPaul Brady (Compilation)

    Celebrating the 25th anniversary of Rounder Records, this bargain-priced double CD emphasizes folk music but encompasses a wide range of styles, including close-harmony duet (Whitstein Brothers), flatpicking (Norman Blake), Cajun (Le Trio Cadien), Piedmont blues (Etta Baker), gospel (E.C. & Orna Ball), old-time country (Mike Seeger), cowboy music (Skip Gorman), and traditional Hawaiian music (Tau Moe Family); furthermore, it includes several artists who also appear on Hand-Picked: 25 Years of Bluegrass on Rounder Records (e.g., Country Cooking, Hazel Dickens, Alison Krauss, Tony Rice, Bela Fleck) or Deep Blue: The Rounder 25th Anniversary Blues Anthology (Rory Block). The 40 tracks on Hills of Home include performances by legendary artists such as Woody Guthrie, Leadbelly, and the Louvin Brothers; noteworthy contemporary musicians such as Bill Morrissey; and a selection from the classic Have Moicy! album by Michael Hurley & the Unholy Modal Rounders. In other words, there is so much good music on this album that it's worth hearing even if you dislike a few of the artists or already own a few of the selections. ~ Todd Kristel

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.72
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for