CD J.D. Crowe & The New South (CD 143144),
back to browsing

J.D. Crowe & The New South

  • 1. Old Home Place
    2. Same Old Day
    3. Rock Salt and Nails
    4. Sally Goodin
    5. Ten Degrees
    6. Nashville Blues
    7. You Are What I Am
    8. Summer Wages
    9. I'm Walking
    10. Home Sweet Home Revisited
    11. Cryin' Holy
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 610 044

  • Credits

    Personnel: J.D. Crowe (vocals, banjo); Tony Rice (vocals, guitar); Ricky Skaggs (vocals, mandolin, fiddle, viola); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Bobby Slone (bass).
    J.D. Crowe & the New South's eponymous debut album is one of the most influential and pioneering records in the history of bluegrass. For the first edition of the New South, Crowe assembled a stellar group of musicians -- including Ricky Skaggs (fiddle, mandolin, vocals), Tony Rice (lead vocals, guitar), and Jerry Douglas (dobro) -- and gave them each equal weight. Consequently, this is vibrant collaborative music, not just a leader with some faceless studio hacks. Furthermore, Crowe pushed the music in new direction with his section of material, taking songs from contemporary singer/songwriters like Gordon Lightfoot, adding a couple of originals, as well as standards. With such an eclectic selection of songs, plus the band's trailblazing instrumental style, The New South did indeed offer a new kind of bluegrass and its impact could still be felt years after its release. ~ Thom Owens

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.60
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for