CD King of Western Swing [JSP] (CD 1146173),
back to browsing

King of Western Swing [JSP]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Sunbonnet Sue
    2. Nancy Jane
    3. Osage Stomp
    4. Get with It
    5. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
    6. Spanish Two Step
    7. Maiden's Prayer
    8. Wang Wang Blues
    9. St. Louis Blues
    10. Good Old Oklahoma
    11. Blue River
    12. Mexicali Rose
    13. I Ain't Got Nobody
    14. Never No More Blues
    15. Who Walks in When I Walk Out
    16. Old Fashioned Love
    17. Oklahoma Rag
    18. Black and Blue Rag
    19. Sittin' on Top of the World
    20. Four or Five Times
    21. I Can't Be Satisfied
    22. Smith's Reel
    23. Harmony
    24. She's Killing Me
    25. Weary of the Same Old Stuff
    0. DISC 2:
    1. No Matter How She Done It
    2. Bluin' the Blues
    3. Steel Guitar Rag
    4. Get Along Home Cindy
    5. Trouble in Mind
    6. What's the Matter with the Mill
    7. Sugar Blues
    8. Basin Street Blues
    9. Red Hot Gal of Mine
    10. Too Busy
    11. Back Home Again in Indiana
    12. Fan It
    13. Mean Mama Blues
    14. Bring It on Down to My House
    15. Right or Wrong
    16. Swing Blues #1
    17. Swing Blues #2
    18. White Heat
    19. Dedicated to You
    20. Playboy Stomp
    21. Steel Guitar Stomp
    22. Rosetta
    23. Bleeding Hearted Blues
    24. Tie Me to Your Apron Strings Again
    25. Never No More Hard Times Blues
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Sunbonnet Sue
    2. New St. Louis Blues, The
    3. I'm a Ding Dong Daddy from Dumas
    4. Oozlin' Daddy Blues
    5. Black Rider
    6. Everybody Does It in Hawaii
    7. Alexander's Ragtime Band
    8. Blue Prelude
    9. Sophisticated Hula
    10. Pray for the Lights to Go Out
    11. Gambling Polka Dot Blues
    12. Keep Knocking (But You Can't Come In)
    13. Loveless Love
    14. Oh, Lady Be Good
    15. Way Down Upon the Swanee River
    16. Oh You Beautiful Doll
    17. Moonlight and Roses (Bring Mem'ries of You)
    18. I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My Sister Kate
    19. Tulsa Stomp
    20. Empty Bed Blues
    21. Little Red Head
    22. San Antonio Rose
    23. Little Girl, Go Ask Your Mama
    24. Carolina in the Morning
    25. Convict and the Rose, The
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Silver Bells
    2. Dreamy Eyes Waltz
    3. Beaumont Rag
    4. Twinkle Twinkle Little Star
    5. If I Could Bring Back My Buddy
    6. Whoa Babe
    7. Ida Red
    8. Yearning (Just for You)
    9. I Wonder If You Feel the Way I Do
    10. Prosperity Special
    11. Drunkard's Blues
    12. You're Okay
    13. Liza Pull Down the Shades
    14. That's What I Like 'Bout the South
    15. My Window Faces the South
    16. Waltz You Saved for Me, The
    17. Don't Let the Deal Go Down
    18. You Don't Love Me (But I'll Always Care)
    19. No Wonder
    20. Lone Star Rag
    21. There's Going to Be a Party (For the Old Folks)
    22. I Don't Lov'a Nobody
    23. That Brownskin Gal
    24. Corrine Corrina
    25. Let Me Call You Sweetheart (I'm in Love with You)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): JSPCD 7770

  • Credits

    Bob Wills/Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys: Bob Wills.
    Personnel: Bob Wills (vocals, fiddle); Clifton "Sleepy" Johnson (vocals, guitar, tenor guitar, fiddle); Leon McAuliffe (vocals, electric guitar, steel guitar); Thomas Elmer "Tommy" Duncan, Joe Ferguson , Tommy Duncan (vocals); Herman Arnspiger, Clifford 'Sleepy' Johnson, Derwood Brown (guitar); William Leon McAuliffe (electric guitar); C.G. 'Sleepy' Johnson (tenor guitar); Jesse Thedford Ashlock, Ruth McMaster, Ruth McMaster (fiddle); Charles Laughton (clarinet, saxophone, trumpet); Charles Laughton (clarinet); Robert McNally (saxophone, alto saxophone); Robert 'Zeb' McNally (alto saxophone); Thomas Elmer 'Tommy' Duncan (tenor saxophone); Everett Stover, Everett Stover (trumpet); Alton Meeks 'Al' Stricklin, Alton Meeks "Al" Stricklin, Al Stricklin (piano); Thomas C. 'Son' Lansford, Frank Ferguson, Son Lansford (bass instrument); William E. 'Smokey' Dacus, William E. Dacus (drums); Johnnie Lee Wills (vocals, tenor banjo); Jesse Ashlock (vocals, fiddle); Milton Brown (vocals); Eldon Shamblin (guitar); Arthur D "Art" Haynes (fiddle, trombone); Ray DeGeer (clarinet, saxophone, alto saxophone).
    Liner Note Author: Pat Harrison.
    Recording information: Chicago, IL (09/23/1935-04/15/1940); Dallas, TX (09/23/1935-04/15/1940); Saginaw, TX (09/23/1935-04/15/1940).
    Author: Lee "Brownie" Brown.
    JSP's outstanding four-CD Bob Wills anthology consists of 100 classic Western swing performances recorded between September 1935 and April 1940 in Dallas, Fort Worth, Chicago, and Saginaw. Almost all of these 78-rpm records came out under the name of the Texas Playboys; the only exceptions are two fiddle and guitar duets by Bob Wills and Sleepy Johnson and a pair of early ditties by the Fort Worth Doughboys. This is most tantalizing, as Wills, always a capable fiddler and an exuberant vocalist, also worked for a while with the original Light Crust Doughboys, a fun little outfit whose earliest recordings have yet to be comprehensively reissued. JSP has done with Bob Wills what it does with every artist deemed worthy of such a rigorous retrospective. The well-chosen, carefully remastered recordings are laid out in chronological order and complete discographical information is enclosed, along with informative liner notes in the form of an extended biographical essay appended with a small but useful bibliography. This wonderfully uplifting music is a natural byproduct of mingling cultural currents during the years immediately preceding the Second World War. Change was literally in the air, and phonograph records and radio were the media that accelerated new developments and encouraged cross-pollination. Bob Wills listened to recordings by the Original Dixieland Jazz Band, Leroy Carr, Fats Waller, and Bessie Smith. He became inspired by Louis Armstrong, King Oliver, Earl Hines, James P. Johnson, Jimmie Lunceford, and Lionel Hampton. Wills heard live big-band broadcasts originating hundreds of miles away and began combining stylistic tropes that were unmixable according to entrenched bigoted social convention. Wills created a hybrid genre using Afro-American jazz and blues and his own home-grown brand of Western country music, beautifully tempered with melodies he learned from the Mexican population in Texas. Western swing cut through all kinds of socially imposed racial and ethnic delineations. It was also very entertaining, and still is. Anyone interested in this genre should seriously consider obtaining and absorbing JSP's well-researched and refreshingly affordable Bob Wills collection. ~ arwulf arwulf

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.89
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for