CD King of the Hillbillies, Vol. 1 [Remaster] (CD 1146187),
back to browsing

King of the Hillbillies, Vol. 1 [Remaster]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Singing My Way to Glory
    2. Charmin' Betsy
    3. Great Speckle Bird
    4. My Mountain Home Sweet Home
    5. Gonna Raise a Ruckus Tonight
    6. Wabash Cannon Call
    7. Freight Train Clues
    8. You've Got to See Mama Every Night (Or You Can't See Mama at All)
    9. Gonna Have a Big Time Tonight
    10. Yes Sir, That's My Baby
    11. You're the Only Star (In My Blue Heaven)
    12. All Night Long
    13. New Greenback Dollar
    14. Steamboat Whislte Blues
    15. She No Longer Belongs to Me
    16. When Lulu's Gone
    17. Doin' It the Old Fashioned Way
    18. Old Three Room Shack, An
    19. Red Lips - Kiss My Blues Away
    20. Trouble, Trouble
    21. Sailing Along
    22. Steel Guitar Chimes
    23. Lonesome Valley
    24. Sad Memories
    25. Steel Guitar Blues
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Old Fashioned Love
    2. My Gal Sal
    3. Great Speckle Bird, Pt. 2
    4. Tell Mother I'll Be There
    5. Rising Sun, The
    6. What Would You Do with Gabriel's Trumpet
    7. Shout, Oh Lulu
    8. Good-Bye Sweetheart
    9. Blue Ridge Sweetheart
    10. One Old Shirt
    11. Bonnie Blue Eyes
    12. Automobile of Life, The
    13. Smoky Mountain Rag
    14. Wabash Blues
    15. That Beautiful Picture
    16. Great Shining Light, The
    17. Honky Tonk Mammas
    18. Haven of Dreams
    19. Answer to Sparking Blue Eyes
    20. Smoky Mountain Moon
    21. Fly, Birdie, Fly
    22. Ida Red
    23. Beautiful Brown Eyes
    24. Mother's Prayers Guide Me
    25. Living on the Mountain, Baby Mine
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Vagabond's Dream, A
    2. Old Age Pension Check
    3. Eyes Are Watching You
    4. I'm Building a Home
    5. Walkin' in My Sleep
    6. Drifting Too Far from the Shore
    7. Come Back Little Pal
    8. Will the Circle Be Unbroken
    9. When I Lay My Burden Down
    10. Beneath That Lonely Mound of Clay
    11. Streamlined Cannon Ball, The
    12. Weary River
    13. Just to Ease My Worried Mind
    14. Farther Along
    15. Blue Eyed Darling
    16. Precious Jewel, The
    17. Broken Heart, The
    18. Would You Care
    19. Lonesome Old River Blues
    20. What Good Will It Do
    21. Mule Skinner Blues (Blues Yodel #8)
    22. Be Honest with Me
    23. Worried Mind
    24. Things That Might Have Been
    25. You're My Darling
    0. DISC 4:
    1. It Won't Be Long (Till I'll Be Leaving)
    2. Just Inside the Pearly Gates
    3. I Know We're Saying Goodbye
    4. Brother Take Warning
    5. Great Judgement Morning, The
    6. Stuck Up Blues
    7. Lying Woman Blues
    8. You Are My Love
    9. Branded Wherever I Go
    10. No Letter in the Mail
    11. Are You Thinking of Me Darling?
    12. I Called and Nobody Answered
    13. Wreck on the Highway
    14. Fire Ball Mail
    15. I'll Reap My Harvest in Heaven
    16. Night Train to Memphis
    17. Prodigal Son, The
    18. Low and Lonely
    19. Write Me Sweetheart
    20. They Can Only Fill One Grave
    21. Don't Make Me Go to Bed and I'll Be Good
    22. Not a Word from Home
    23. Do You Wonder Why
    24. I'll Forgive You But I Can't Forget
    25. Blues in My Mind
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7799

  • Credits

    Personnel: Roy Acuff (vocals, fiddle); Jess Easterday (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Pete "Oswald" Kirty (vocals, steel guitar, banjo); Clell Summey (vocals, steel guitar); Sam "Dynamite" Hatcher (vocals, harmonica); Red Jones (vocals, bass instrument); Lonnie Wilson (guitar); Jimmy Riddle (accordion); Oral Rhodes, Velma Williams (bass instrument); Roy Acuff & His Crazy Tennesseans, Roy Acuff & His Smokey Mountain Boys.
    Subtitled "The First 100 Commercial Sides," this four-disc box set delivers precisely that: the first hundred songs Roy Acuff cut, starting with 1936's "Singing My Way to Glory." Part of what's remarkable about this collection is how quickly Acuff found his musical voice: the third song here is "Great Speckle Bird," which, along with "Wabash Cannonball," became Acuff's signature tune. As usual with JSP Records' budget-line box sets, there are four discs here, each with 25 tunes. The songs are carefully remastered and sound excellent, and the liner notes are brief but packed with information. Although priced low enough to appeal even to casual fans, KING OF THE HILLBILLIES is a well-structured and musically solid anthology that will satisfy even diehard Roy Acuff fans.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $30.29
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for