CD Not All Who Wander Are Lost [Chris Thile] (CD 166820),
back to browsing

Not All Who Wander Are Lost [Chris Thile]

  • 1. Song for a Young Queen
    2. Wolfcreek Pass
    3. Raining at Sunset
    4. Riddles in the Dark
    5. Sinai to Canaan, Pt. 1
    6. Sinai to Canaan, Pt. 2
    7. Club G.R.O.S.S.
    8. You Deserve Flowers
    9. Eureka!
    10. Big Sam Thompson
    11. Bridal Veil Falls
    12. Laurie De' Tullins
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 3931

  • Credits
    ProducerChris Thile; Chris Thile; Gary Paczosa
    EngineerGary Paczosa

    This is a hybrid Super Audio CD playable on both regular and Super Audio CD players.
    Personnel includes: Chris Thile, Bryan House (guitar); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Stuart Duncan (fiddle); Jeff Coffin (tenor saxophone); Bela Fleck, Edgar Meyer, Byron House (bass).
    Recorded at Dark Horse Recording, Franklin, Tennesse.
    Personnel: Sean Watkins, Byron House, Bryan Sutton (guitar); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Bla Fleck (banjo); Stuart Duncan, Sara Watkins (fiddle); Jeff Coffin (tenor saxophone).
    Audio Mixers: Chris Thile; Gary Paczosa.
    Recording information: Dark Horse Recording, Franklin TN (12/2000).
    Photographers: Brent Hedgecock; Scott Thile; Jenny Anne Bulla.
    One has to marvel at the recording sessions the folks at Sugar Hill put together. Start with a young, hotshot mandolin player, Chris Thile, then add the cream of new acoustic players, fiddler Stuart Duncan, banjoist Bela Fleck, and dobroist Jerry Douglas, and pack the whole crew into the studio. Add to this a superb title, Not All Who Wander Are Lost, and it's impossible to go wrong. The breezy "Song for a Young Queen" is a joyful opener, laying the groundwork for 60 minutes of innovative acoustic picking. Bach meets Earl Scruggs on the sprightly "Riddles in the Dark," a duo with Bela Fleck featuring a complex intermingling of banjo and mandolin. The peaceful "Sinai to Canaan, Part 1" quietly rises and falls, with Edgar Meyer's bow and bass adding an eerie bottom end. The shifting rhythms, different combinations of instruments, and slightly mysterious air mirror the many ups and downs of a long journey. Jeff Coffin throws the sounds of the tenor sax into the mix on "Club G.R.O.S.S.," a jazzy open-ended piece that might be described as experimental acoustic. Several songs like "Raining at Sunset" and "Big Sam Thompson" clock in at over five minutes, allowing everyone plenty of room for lengthy solos. Not All Who Wander Are Lost is the perfect album for a lazy Sunday afternoon and will please anyone who loves rich, layered, acoustic music. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.14
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for