CD One Hell of a Ride [Box Set] [Box] (CD 1166192),
back to browsing

One Hell of a Ride [Box Set] [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. When I've Sang My Last Hillbilly Song
    2. No Place For Me
    3. Man With the Blues
    4. Nite Life
    5. Hello Walls
    6. Funny How Time Slips Away
    7. Crazy
    8. Half a Man
    9. Mr. Record Man
    10. One in a Row
    11. Party's Over, The
    12. Texas in My Soul
    13. Good Times
    14. Sweet Memories
    15. Little Things
    16. Any Old Arms Won't Do
    17. Everybody's Talkin'
    18. Pins and Needles (In My Heart)
    19. Once More With Feeling
    20. I Gotta Get Drunk
    21. Laying My Burdens Down
    22. What Can You Do to Me Now
    23. Kneel at the Foot of Jesus
    24. I'm a Memory
    25. Family Bible
    26. Summer of Roses
    27. Yesterday's Wine
    28. Me and Paul
    29. Words Don't Fit the Picture, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Good Heart Woman - (featuring Waylon Jennings)
    2. You Left a Long, Long Time Ago
    3. She's Not For You
    4. You Ought to Hear Me Cry
    5. It Should Be Easier Now
    6. Mammas Don't Let Your Babies Grow up to Be Cowboys - (featuring Waylon Jennings)
    7. If You Can Touch Her at All - (featuring Waylon Jennings)
    8. I Can Get Off on You - (featuring Waylon Jennings)
    9. Blackjack County Chain
    10. Johnny One Time
    11. Bring Me Sunshine
    12. I Just Can't Let You Say Goodbye
    13. Shotgun Willie
    14. Sad Songs and Waltzes
    15. Troublemaker, The
    16. Uncloudy Day
    17. Blood Mary Morning
    18. I Still Can't Believe You're Gone
    19. Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain
    20. I'd Have to Be Crazy
    21. If You've Got the Money, I've Got the Time
    22. Always Late (With Your Kisses)
    23. She's Gone, Gone, Gone
    24. I Never Go Around Mirrors
    25. Stardust
    26. Georgia on My Mind
    27. Song For You, A (Live) - (live)
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Whiskey River (Live) - (live)
    2. Till I Gain Control Again (Live) - (live)
    3. Stay a Little Longer (Live) - (live)
    4. Heartbreak Hotel - (featuring Leon Russell)
    5. One For My Baby (And One More For the Road) - (featuring Leon Russell)
    6. Help Me Make It Through the Night
    7. Midnight Rider
    8. My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys
    9. Crazy Arms - (featuring Ray Price)
    10. On the Road Again
    11. Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground
    12. Mona Lisa
    13. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
    14. Always on My Mind
    15. Old Friends - (featuring Ray Price/Roger Miller)
    16. Pancho & Lefty - (featuring Merle Haggard)
    17. Reasons to Quit - (featuring Merle Haggard)
    18. In the Jailhouse Now - (featuring Webb Pierce)
    19. Why Do I Have to Choose - (featuring Waylon Jennings)
    20. City of New Orleans
    21. To All the Girls I've Loved Before - (featuring Julio Iglesias)
    22. Three Days - (featuring Faron Young)
    23. Touch Me - (featuring Faron Young)
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Write Your Own Songs
    2. Heart of Gold
    3. I'm Movin' On - (featuring Hank Snow)
    4. Seven Spanish Angels - (featuring Ray Charles)
    5. Highwayman - (featuring Johnny Cash/Kris Kristofferson/Waylon Jennings)
    6. Living in the Promise Land
    7. What a Wonderful World
    8. Country Willie
    9. Graceland
    10. Valentine
    11. What Was It You Wanted
    12. Still Is Still Moving to Me
    13. Too Sick to Pray
    14. Everywhere I Go
    15. My Own Peculiar Way
    16. Nuages
    17. Rainbow Connection
    18. Mendocino County Line - (featuring Lee Ann Womack)
    19. Harder They Come, The
    20. Bubbles in My Beer
    21. When I've Sung My Last Hillbilly Song
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 88697 13915

  • Credits
    ProducerAl Quaglieri (Compilation)

    There have been other Willie Nelson box sets in the past, but the four-disc ONE HELL OF A RIDE, released just before the country icon's 75th birthday, leaves every other collection in the dust. A truly career-encompassing anthology, it covers more than 50 years of music, from Willie's 1950s indie singles all the way up to the 21st century.
    While the blockbusters are here ("Always on My Mind," "On the Road Again," etc.), the real public service performed by this box is reaching back to great Nelson albums from the '60s that have long been out of print, and scooping up some of their dusty gems. For instance, "One in a Row" shows that Willie could croon a countrypolitan-style tune with the best of them, while "Texas in My Soul" is an early example of the jazzy Western swing influence that has always been an undercurrent of Nelson's music. ONE HELL OF A RIDE follows the Red Headed Stranger's growth from well-groomed Nashville cat to hirsute country outlaw to grey-bearded elder statesman, cherry-picking the best of every phase along the way.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.69) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Nelson's distinctive vocal phrasing and nylon-string guitar leads peep through, providing a nice foil for the lush strings and syrupy backup choir."
    Uncut (p.106) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Nelson's vast, overwhelming discography has always needed a sharp edit, ONE HELL OF A RIDE certainly does the trick."
    Down Beat (p.78) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "Nelson sings with an earthiness yet also a state of transcendence. He twangs with a Texas drawl but delivers impeccable melodic sublimity."
    Dirty Linen (p.58) - "[T]he most comprehensive and economically priced collection to ever commemorate the Red Headed Stranger's storied career....A satisfying and often revealing examination of one of America's greatest mavericks."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.122) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "It spans a lot of music....Willie's been many things: a great country-pop writer; an outlaw who helped change Nashville; and a performer making alt country before anyone knew what alt country really was."
    Blender (Magazine) (p.81) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his sanely ambitious, provisionally definitive 100-track box does country music's reigning survivor justice."
    Pitchfork (Website) - "[T]he leathery texture of his voice is immediately recognizable on the first disc as it is on the final disc, as idiosyncratic as Cash's grave baritone or Elvis Presley's full-bodied croon..." -- Rating: 8.6
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.98) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The inclusion of plenty of duets, with the likes of Merle Haggard, Wayon Jennings, Leon Russell, Webb Pierce, Ray Charles, Faron Young, Hank Snow and Julio Iglesias make for particularly enjoyable listening."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $39.35
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for