CD Original Band (CD 166767),
back to browsing

Original Band

  • 1. Mighty Mississippi
    2. How Long Have I Been Waiting
    3. Happy on My Way
    4. Thinking About You
    5. I'll Be With You
    6. On and On
    7. He Put a Rainbow in the Clouds for Me
    8. I'd Rather Die Young
    9. Touch of Pennsylvania, A
    10. Don't Cross the River
    11. Shady Grove
    12. Misr'y River
    13. Georgia Girl
    14. Till the Rivers All Run Dry
    15. Rocking on the Waves
    16. Yellow River
    17. Poet With Wings
    18. Kentucky Song
    19. Calm the Storm
    20. I'll Be Around Somewhere
    21. Heart of a Little Mountain Girl
    22. Lonesome River, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2210

  • Credits
    EngineerRichard Alder; Bill McElroy

    Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver: Doyle Lawson (vocals, mandolin); Jimmy Haley (vocals, guitar); Terry Baucom (vocals, banjo); Lou Reid (vocals, bass).
    Additional personnel: Jerry Douglas, Mike Auldridge (dobro); Bobby Hicks, Sam Bush (fiddle).
    Producers: Barry Poss, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver.
    Recorded at Bias Recording Co., Springfield, Virginia; Bull Run Studios, Ashland, Tennessee. Includes liner notes by Tim Stafford.
    Digitally remastered by David Glasser.
    Personnel: Doyle Lawson (vocals, mandolin); Jimmy Haley (vocals, guitar); Terry Baucom (vocals, banjo); Lou Reid (vocals); Jerry Douglas , Mike Auldridge (dobro); Sam Bush, Bobby Hicks (fiddle).
    Audio Mixers: Doyle Lawson; Bill McElroy.
    Audio Remasterer: David Glasser.
    Liner Note Author: Tim Stafford.
    Recording information: Bias Reocrding Co., Springfield, VA; Bull Run Studios, Asland, TN.
    Photographers: Skip Jackson; Seor McGuire.
    What has always set Doyle Lawson's groups apart from other progressive bluegrass outfits is their equal focus on both vocal and instrumental virtuosity. Where colleagues like the Country Gentlemen, the Seldom Scene, and the New Grass Revival tended to emphasize unusual repertoire and instrumental pyrotechnics, Lawson's band, even with its kaleidoscopically shifting membership, has always maintained a consistent dual focus on fiery playing and tight, rich, gospel-flavored harmonies. The Original Band compiles the first two albums (Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver and Quicksilver Rides Again) that Lawson made with his own group after leaving the Country Gentlemen in 1979, and it will probably stand as the definitive document of his early work as a bandleader. There are blistering versions of Bill Monroe's "On and On" and the traditional "Shady Grove," the forward-looking "A Touch of Pennsylvania," and several absolutely stunning gospel numbers, including the standard "He Put a Rainbow in the Clouds for Me" and "Calm the Storm." If you had to limit your bluegrass collection to only 20 discs, this would have to be one of them. ~ Rick Anderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.72
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for