CD Pickin' on Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young: Deja Blue Grass (CD 224879),
back to browsing

Pickin' on Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young: Deja Blue Grass

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Suite: Judy Blue Eyes
    2. Marrakesh Express
    3. Southern Man
    4. Wooden Ships
    5. Ohio
    6. Just a Song Before I Go
    7. Teach Your Children
    8. Wasted on the Way
    9. 'Till It Shines
    10. Cowgirl in the Sand
    11. Woodstock
    12. Pre-Road Downs
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Love the One You're With
    2. Our House
    3. Dj Vu
    4. Almost Cut My Hair
    5. Long Time Gone
    6. Guinnevere
    7. Southbound Train
    8. Wind on the Water
    9. Helplessly Hoping
    10. Maya
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1711

  • Credits

    Personnel: Mike Mullins , Tom Corbett (guitar, mandolin); David West (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, bottleneck guitar, dobro, banjo, hammer dulcimer, mandolin, bongos, tabla, tambourine, triangle); Gilles Apap, Phil Salazar (fiddle); Tom Ball (harmonica); Al Di Marco (accordion, piano, keyboards); Bo Fox (drums, maracas, tambourine); Lorenzo Martinez (percussion).
    This is more like Deja New Grass. While this second volume of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young tunes to receive the Nashville bluegrass treatment features many of the genre's finest session players -- among them David West, Jay Dee Maness and Gabe Witcher -- to call these treatments of the classic rock quartet's best-known tunes "bluegrass" is stretching the definition of the genre to fissure and fracture. Case in point: how may other bluegrass records do you own that feature tabla drums and bongos? In fact, the serious improvising that goes on inside these tunes -- check the beautiful mandolin solo in "Southern Man" for a small example, or the vamp and solo flourishes in "Pre-Road Downs" on disc one -- feels more like acoustic jazz than it does southern string band music. That said, this is all arranged and played beautifully, though hearing banjos carrying the melody lines on "Suite: Judy Blue Eyes," and mandolins stinging out the lyric on "Love the One You're With," are a bit disconcerting, at least initially. "Almost Cut My Hair" feels more like an Indian raja, and "Helplessly Hoping" feels more like a wide-open country interlude complete with whining pedal steel. So, while the breakdowns are few and far between, this is still an engaging listen and much more than a novelty record. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $20.84
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for