CD Playlist Your Way [Patsy Cline] (CD 1329911),
back to browsing

Playlist Your Way [Patsy Cline]

  • 1. Walking After Midnight
    2. I Fall to Pieces
    3. Crazy
    4. Strange
    5. She's Got You
    6. So Wrong
    7. Heartaches
    8. Why Can't He Be You
    9. Faded Love
    10. When I Get Through with You (You'll Love Me Too)
    11. Back in Baby's Arms
    12. Leavin' on Your Mind
    13. Always
    14. Sweet Dreams (Of You)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 001141502

  • Credits

    Patsy Cline signed an unusually restrictive contract in 1955 with Bill McCall's 4 Star publishing company, a contract that gave McCall complete control over what songs she could record, and he only allowed her to track songs from 4 Star's publishing catalog. Few of 4 Star's songs rose above the average, and not even a voice and delivery like Cline's could do much with them. The more pop-oriented "Walkin' After Midnight," written by 4 Star staff writer Don Hecht, is the obvious exception, but as a rule, her 4 Star tracks sound muted, uninspired, and -- at best -- utterly ordinary. When the prohibitive contract expired in 1960 and Cline was free to choose her own material, her star rose rapidly, and her versions of songs like "I Fall to Pieces" and "Crazy" helped define the shift in country music to a more pop direction. This tight set has the best of both worlds, and includes the above songs plus other gems like "Sweet Dreams (Of You)," making it a decent and quick introduction to why Patsy Cline is, well, Patsy Cline. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.74
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for