CD Songs [Digipak] [Willie Nelson] [602498620557] (CD 862968),
back to browsing

Songs [Digipak] [Willie Nelson] [602498620557]

  • 1. Crazy
    2. Touch Me
    3. Good Time
    4. Yesterday's Wine
    5. Whiskey River
    6. Stay All Night (Stay a Little Longer)
    7. It's Not Supposed to Be That Way
    8. Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain
    9. Good Hearted Woman
    10. Always on My Mind
    11. Just to Satisfy You
    12. Pancho and Lefty
    13. She Is Gone
    14. My Own Peculiar Way
    15. Funny How Time Slips Away
    16. Night Life
    17. Rainbow Connection
    18. Don't Fade Away
    19. Mendocino County Line
    20. On the Road Again
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0002300

  • Credits
    ProducerPat Lawrence (Compilation); Andy McKaie (Compilation)

    Personnel: Willie Nelson (vocals, guitar); Lee Ann Womack, Merle Haggard, B.B. King, Waylon Jennings, Brian McKnight (vocals).
    Liner Note Author: Colin Escott.
    Considering the daunting number of Willie Nelson compilations already available prior to the release of 2005's SONGS, wary record-buyers may be forgiven for asking, "Why another one?" What sets this disc apart is its audacious attempt to summarize an incredibly prolific, half-century-plus career in a single 20-song collection. Given the sheer number of stylistic detours the Texas country singer has taken, complete success in this regard is an obvious impossibility.
    That said, SONGS does a good job in presenting a wide-screen snapshot of the many moods of Mr. Nelson. The disc begins appropriately with Willie's original demo for "Crazy," one of his most famous compositions and a genre-defining hit for Patsy Cline. The lazy, jazzy, steel-guitar-driven honky-tonk of this seminal cut is followed by several tracks from the 1960s and '70s that reveal Nelson's descriptive lyrics, unusual vocal phrasing, and outlaw attitude all coming into full flower. The disc goes on to feature a series of duets, including a bluesy roadhouse version of Nelson's classic ballad "Funny How Time Slips Away" (with Francine Reed) and the synthesizer-infused pop/R&B of the Brian McKnight collaboration "Don't Fade Away." Fittingly, SONGS concludes with a rousing live version of the timeless Nelson tune "On the Road Again."

  • Critic Reviews
    Dirty Linen (p.55) - "[The songs] underscore Nelson's stunning yet tender vocal prowess."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.23
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for