CD The Delmore Brothers, Vol. 2: The Later Years 1933-1952 (CD 1146170),
back to browsing

The Delmore Brothers, Vol. 2: The Later Years 1933-1952

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Ramblin' Minded Blues
    2. I Ain't Gonna Stay Here Long
    3. I'm Going Back to Alabama
    4. I'm Leavin' You
    5. By the Banks of the Rio Grande
    6. Don't Let Me Be in the Way
    7. Hey, Hey I'm Memphis Bound
    8. I Guess I've Got to Be Going
    9. I Know I'll Be Happy in Heaven
    10. I Believe It for My Mother Told Me So
    11. Carry Me Back to Alabama
    12. I Don't Know Why I Love Her
    13. Don't Forget Me Darling
    14. Memories of My Carolina Girl
    15. Wonderful There
    16. Farmer's Girl, The
    17. Look Up, Look Down That Lonesome Road
    18. Ain't It Hard to Love
    19. Bury Me Under the Weeping Willow
    20. Brother Take Warning
    21. Alcatraz Island Blues
    22. There's a Lonesome Road
    23. Leavin' on That Train
    24. My Home's Across the Blue Ridge Mountains
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I'm Alabama Bound
    2. Nothing But the Blues
    3. Some of These Days You're Gonna Be Sad
    4. Heart of Sorrow
    5. Quit Treatin' Me Mean
    6. Just the Same Sweet Thing to Me
    7. Only Star, The
    8. Baby You're Throwing Me Down
    9. Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar, No. 2
    10. Brown's Ferry Blues, No. 3
    11. I Loved You Better Than You Know
    12. Goin' Back to Georgia
    13. Home on the River
    14. Gambler's Yodel
    15. Wabash Cannonball Blues, The
    16. That's How I Feel So Goodbye
    17. Storms Are on the Ocean, The
    18. She Won't Be My Little Darling
    19. Gathering Flowers from the Hillside
    20. Last Night I Was Your Only Darling
    21. New False Hearted Girl
    22. I Wonder Where My Darling Is Tonight
    23. Precious Jewel
    24. I'll Never Fall in Love Again
    25. I'm Leavin' You
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Prisoner's Farewell
    2. Sweet, Sweet Thing
    3. Fast Old Shovel, The
    4. Why Did You Leave Me Dear
    5. I Found an Angel
    6. Lonely Moon
    7. Midnight Special
    8. Be My Little Pet
    9. Remember I Feel Lonesome Too
    10. Fast Express
    11. I'm Sorry I Caused You to Cry
    12. Hillbilly Boogie
    13. I'm Lonesome Without You
    14. Don't Forget Me
    15. She Left Me Standing on the Mountain
    16. Somebody Else's Darling
    17. Kentucky Mountain
    18. Midnight Train
    19. Goin' Back to the Blue Ridge Mountains
    20. Rounder's Blues
    21. Wrath of God, The
    22. Calling to That Other Shore
    23. Freight Train Boogie
    24. Shame on Me
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Harmonica Blues
    2. Mississippi Shore
    3. Waitin' for That Train
    4. Brown's Ferry Blues
    5. Mobile Boogie
    6. Stop That Boogie
    7. Used Car Blues
    8. Barnyard Boogie
    9. Fifty Miles to Travel
    10. Now I'm Free
    11. Lonesome Day
    12. Down Home Boogie
    13. Peach Tree Street Boogie
    14. Blues Stay Away from Me
    15. Trouble Ain't Nothin' But the Blues
    16. Everybody Loves Her
    17. I Let the Freight Train Carry Me On
    18. Please Be My Sunshine
    19. Who's Gonna Be Lonesome for Me
    20. Girl by the River, The
    21. There's Sumpin' About Love
    22. Tennessee Choo Choo
    23. Good Time Saturday Night
    24. Trail of Time, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7765

  • Credits

    The Delmore Brothers: Alton Delmore, Rabon Delmore.
    Personnel: Alton Delmore (vocals, guitar); Rabon Delmore (vocals, tenor guitar); Smiley O'Brien, Homer Haynes, Louis Innis, Merle Travis (guitar); Jethro Burns (electric guitar, mandolin); Roy Lanham, Zeke Turner (electric guitar); Ted Brooks (steel guitar); Red Turner (mandolin); Chuck Maudlin, Fiddlin' Arthur Smith & His Dixieliners (fiddle); Lonnie Glosson, Wayne Raney (harmonica).
    Liner Note Author: Pat Harrison.
    Recording information: Atlanta, GA (12/06/1933-08/29/1952); Charlotte, NC (12/06/1933-08/29/1952); Chicago, IL (12/06/1933-08/29/1952); Cincinnati, OH (12/06/1933-08/29/1952); Dayton, OH (12/06/1933-08/29/1952); Hollywood, CA (12/06/1933-08/29/1952); New Orleans, LA (12/06/1933-08/29/1952); New York, NY (12/06/1933-08/29/1952); Roch Hill, SC (12/06/1933-08/29/1952).
    In a career that took them from the Depression to Hank Williams and the dawn of modern country, the Delmore Brothers were one of the few acts in hillbilly and early country music that consistently produced new music and kept stylistic pace with the times--even pioneering new ideas along the way. DELMORE BROTHER VOL 2: THE LATER YEARS 1933-1952 sprawls over four discs and focuses on the duo's later experimentations with bringing their tight, high-lonesome harmonies into a full band context. Required listening for all roots enthusiasts, this box bests JSP's previous collection, CLASSIC CUTS, by telling the Delmores' full story and emphasizing perhaps their greatest innovation: country boogie.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $28.32
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for