CD The Essential Jim Reeves [RCA Nashville/Legacy] (CD 1074614),
back to browsing

The Essential Jim Reeves [RCA Nashville/Legacy]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Mexican Joe
    2. Bimbo
    3. Beatin' on the Ding Dong
    4. Penny Candy
    5. Drinking Tequila
    6. Yonder Comes a Sucker
    7. According to My Heart
    8. Waiting for a Train
    9. Four Walls
    10. Two Shadows on Your Window
    11. Blue Boy
    12. It Is No Secret (What God Can Do)
    13. Billy Bayou
    14. Home
    15. He'll Have to Go
    16. I'm Gettin' Better
    17. I Know One
    18. I Missed Me
    19. Am I Losing You?
    20. Blizzard, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Losing Your Love
    2. Adios Amigo
    3. I'm Gonna Change Everything
    4. Is This Me?
    5. Guilty
    6. Welcome to My World
    7. Love Is No Excuse
    8. I Guess I'm Crazy
    9. I Won't Forget You
    10. This Is It
    11. Is It Really Over?
    12. Snow Flake
    13. Distant Drums
    14. Blue Side of Lonesome
    15. I Won't Come in While He's There
    16. I Heard a Heart Break Last Night
    17. That's When I See the Blues (In Your Pretty Brown Eyes)
    18. When You Are Gone
    19. When Two Worlds Collide
    20. Angels Don't Lie
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 81430

  • Credits

    RCA/Legacy's 2006 release The Essential Jim Reeves is a repackaged reissue of BMG Heritage's 2003 compilation Anthology, containing a different title and cover art, but bearing the same 40 tracks and annotation. There has been no shortage of Jim Reeves compilations over the years, ranging from cheap budget-line collections to Bear Family's absurdly comprehensive 16-CD set, Welcome to My World. In between those two extremes were 1993's double-disc Welcome to My World: The Essential Jim Reeves and 1995's single-disc The Essential Jim Reeves, both of which covered the basics quite well, and 2000s double-disc German release The Singles, 1953 to 1960, an excellent distillation of his peak years. Despite the strengths of these releases, no set offered such a wide-ranging and complete overview as this superb collection, now titled The Essential Jim Reeves. Spanning 40 tracks over two discs, the set begins with his first big hit, "Mexican Joe" in 1953, and ends with "Angels Don't Lie," which charted in 1970, six years after his tragic death in 1964. Reeves had plenty of hits even after 1970 -- he appeared on the Billboard country charts regularly for 20 years after his death -- and he had so many hits during his lifetime that they can't all be condensed into one 40-track collection, but what makes The Essential Jim Reeves so good is its expert song selection. It picks both the biggest hits and greatest songs, making this both the best hits collection and summary of his career for those who want a thorough but not exhaustive overview of his work. Those other collections are excellent in different ways, but this is the one that should be in every country collection. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.24
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for