CD Tony Rice Sings Gordon Lightfoot (CD 143198),
back to browsing

Tony Rice Sings Gordon Lightfoot

  • 1. Go My Way
    2. Home from the Forest
    3. Fine as Fine Can Be
    4. Let It Ride
    5. I'm Not Sayin'
    6. Bitter Green
    7. You Are What I Am
    8. Shadows
    9. Walls
    10. Whispers of the North
    11. Ten Degrees (Getting Colder)
    12. Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald
    13. Early Morning Rain
    14. Whisper My Name
    15. Sixteen Miles
    16. Cold on the Shoulder
    17. Song for a Winter's Night
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 610370

  • Credits
    ProducerJ.D. Crowe; Norman Blake; The Rice Brothers; Tony Rice; Bill Wolf

    Personnel includes: Tony Rice (vocals, guitar); Larry Rice (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Ricky Skaggs (vocals, mandolin); Sam Bush (vocals, violin); Sam Bush (mandolin); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Todd Phillips (bass).
    Includes liner notes by Scott Alarik.
    Personnel: Tony Rice (vocals, guitar); Larry Rice , Norman Blake (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Bill Emerson (vocals, banjo); Jimmy Gaudreau (vocals, mandolin); Mark Schatz (vocals, acoustic bass); Kate Wolf, Kathy Chiavola (vocals); Ricky Skaggs (tenor, mandolin, fiddle, viola, trombone); J.D. Crowe (baritone, guitar, banjo); Sam Bush (baritone, mandolin, violin); Wyatt Rice (guitar); Frank Poindexter, Jerry Douglas (dobro); Bla Fleck (banjo); Bobby Hicks (violin); Ricky Simkins, Rickie Simpkins (fiddle, viola); Vassar Clements (fiddle); Cole Burgess (soprano saxophone); Bill Wolf (piano); Ron Rice (acoustic bass).
    Liner Note Author: Scott Alarik.
    Editor: Bill Wolf .
    Photographer: Tim Talley.
    Bluegrass singer/guitarist Tony Rice has been recording songs written by Gordon Lightfoot throughout his career, and this 17-track compilation gathers them together, adding a previously unreleased version of "Whispers of the North" that was cut for Rice's Me and My Guitar album. Included are tracks Rice recorded as part of J.D. Crowe & the New South, the Tony Rice Unit, the Rice Brothers, in a duo with Norman Blake, and as a solo artist. That means that on the various tracks he's joined by a newgrass who's who that includes Jerry Douglas, Ricky Skaggs, Sam Bush, Vassar Clements, and Bela Fleck, among others. The selections include "Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald" and "Early Morning Rain," but for the most part Rice eschewed Lightfoot's better known compositions, and the collection serves to illustrate the overall quality of the songwriter's catalog. Rice did not just use the songs as platforms for picking sessions, either. His singing clearly influenced by Lightfoot's, he brought a strong interpretive ability to the lyrics. Of course, the picking is pretty hot, too. ~ William Ruhlmann

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.38
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for