CD Turn Back the Years: The Essential Hank Williams Collection [Box] [Remaster] (CD 870371),
back to browsing

Turn Back the Years: The Essential Hank Williams Collection [Box] [Remaster]

    1. Honky Tonkin'
    2. Rockin' Chair Money
    3. I'm a Long Gone Daddy
    4. I've Been Down That Road Before
    5. Moanin' the Blues
    6. (I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle
    7. Rootie Tootie
    8. You Better Keep It on Your Mind
    9. Settin' the Woods on Fire
    10. Wearin' Out Your Walkin' Shoes
    11. Too Many Parties and Too Many Pals
    12. Ramblin' Man
    13. Tennessee Border
    14. Howlin' at the Moon
    15. Move It on Over
    16. Hey, Good Lookin'
    17. Leave Me Along With the Blues
    18. Lost Highway
    19. Honky Tonk Blues
    20. There's a Tear in My Beer
    1. Lovesick Blues
    2. Wedding Bells
    3. Mansion on the Hill, A
    4. I'm Free at Last
    5. My Love For You (Has Turned to Hate)
    6. Your Cheatin' Heart
    7. First Year Blues
    8. On the Banks of the Old Pontchartrain
    9. May You Never Be Alone
    10. House Without Love, A
    11. They'll Never Take Her Love From Me
    12. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
    13. Let's Turn Back the Years
    14. I'm So Tired of It All
    15. Cold, Cold Heart
    16. You Win Again
    17. Please Make up Your Mind
    18. Fool About You
    19. Weary Blues From Waiting
    20. I Can't Escape From You
    1. I Saw the Light
    2. Thy Burdens Are Greater Than Mine
    3. Calling You
    4. Wealth Won't Save Your Soul
    5. Pale Horse and His Rider, The
    6. Beyond the Sunset
    7. Are You Walkin' and a Talkin' For the Lord?
    8. Let the Spirit Descend
    9. Battle of Armageddon, The
    10. Alone and Forsaken
    11. Drifting Too Far From the Shore
    12. House of Gold, A
    13. Where the Soul of Man Never Dies
    14. How Can You Refuse Him Now?
    15. Tramp on the Street, A
    16. Lost on the River
    17. When God Dips His Love in My Heart
    18. Neath a Cold Gray Tomb of Stone
    19. I'll Have a New Body (I'll Have a New Life)
    20. Angel of Death
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0005348

  • Credits
    ProducerFred Rose; Colin Escott (Compilation)

    Personnel: Hank Williams; Don Helms, Lum York, Tommy Bishop, Cedric Rainwater, Jerry Rivers, Jimmy Day, Red Foley, Audrey Williams, Big Bill Lister, Samuel K. "Sammy" Pruett, Red Todd, Joe Pennington, Sonny Norred.
    While there are dozens of Hank Williams anthologies on the market, only a handful of these approach the quality and consistency of 2005's TURN BACK THE YEARS: THE ESSENTIAL HANK WILLIAMS COLLECTION. Rather than following a strictly chronological order, this Mercury Nashville three-disc set arranges its 60 tunes into thematic CDs that cover the range of the country legend's brief recording career, from 1946 to 1952.
    The first disc focuses on the freewheeling, hard-drinking side of Williams, presenting tunes such as the rollicking "Move It on Over," the caddish "Hey, Good Lookin'," and the rambling "Lost Highway." While the second disc features songs of heartbreak and loneliness (the timeless tale of infidelity "Your Cheatin' Heart" and the woe-is-me classic "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry"), the third disc sets its sights on spiritual tunes both redemptive ("I Saw the Light") and bleak ("Angel of Death"). Every song on TURN BACK THE YEARS showcases Williams's charismatic vocals and spare, twangy arrangements, reinforcing exactly why he is revered as the reigning country icon of the first half of the 20th century.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (No. 845, p.75) - "...[T]his sequencing might make serious students hear new things in each catch-and-moan bray of misery--like the pre-Elvis roots of rock & roll." - Grade: A-
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $25.47
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for