CD What It Is [Rob Ickes] (CD 144230),
back to browsing

What It Is [Rob Ickes]

  • 1. Mr. Goodbar
    2. Scheerhorn Shuffle
    3. Self Portrait
    4. Stanford and Son
    5. I'll Take Les
    6. Killene
    7. Juke Joint
    8. Blues For Sammy
    9. When We Were Leaving
    10. Union Pacific
    11. 50 Years Ago
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 610 492

  • Credits
    ProducerRob Ickes
    EngineerCookie Marenco

    Personnel includes: Rob Ickes (dobro); Paul Hanson (bassoon, saxophone);
    John R. Burr (piano, organ); Derek Jones (bass); Kendrick Freeman (drums).
    Recorded at OTR Studios, Belmony, California. Includes liner notes by Matt Glaser.
    As in 1999's Slide City, Rob Ickes again combines jazz and swing stylings with the more countrified leanings of the dobro. The results are mixed and, at times, meld into a too-smooth combo resembling light jazz. What It Is works best when Ickes loosens up a bit around the instrument's natural inclinations: the way he works the melody on "Killeen," which was inspired by the Texan town, seems to point toward a more string-based effort; a cover of Marc Johnson's "Union Pacific" further iterates Ickes' simpler but no less enjoyable leanings; and "Blues for Sammy," which was written in response to Charlie Parker's Savoy sessions, allows him to stretch out his abilities as a great technician of the instrument. ~ Travis Drageset

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (7-8/02, p.107) - "...Ickes places the dobro in some very unbluegrasslike settings....there's a great deal of stylistic variety on this album..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.76
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for