CD Double Deux/Delicado (CD 1160072),
back to browsing

Double Deux/Delicado

  • 1. DD Engine
    2. Slapping
    3. Flopo
    4. Transition_flopo_sxsx
    5. Sxsx
    6. Walk, The
    7. Transition_walk_scream
    8. Scream, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Delicado
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 003

  • Credits
    ProducerCristian Vogel

    Liner Note Authors: Cristian Vogel; Franz Treichler.
    Recording information: Bonlieu-Scene Nationale D'Annecy, France (01/21/2004-05/12/2006); Grand Auditorium, Foundation Gulbenkian, Lisbon, Portug (01/21/2004-05/12/2006).
    Photographer: Mario DelCurto.
    This double-CD set is a bit different than Cristian Vogel's usual experimental techno, as it leans significantly more toward the experimental side than the techno side. Vogel still had the dancefloor in mind, albeit not the kind found in nightclubs. In fact, this set culls music scores created for two of Swiss choreographer Gilles Jobin's dance pieces. The hourlong "Double Deux" (disc one) is a convincing piece of very experimental techno on its own right -- imagining choreographed movements to it simply gives it extra spice. The eight-part suite does not entirely eschew the beat, and fans of Super_Collider will still hear familiar sounds, textures, and patterns. However, Vogel clearly put an emphasis on deconstructing rhythm and reinventing his own approach. The result is a mutant form of electronic music, abstract yet noisy, miles away from the minimalism of most sound artists, yet not as overwhelming as a noisician's creation. Even more interesting is the single-part, 30-minute piece "Delicado" found on disc two. Here, Vogel develops abstracted themes on a wider scale, relying on a broader sound palette and better defined ambiences. The piece evolves at a good pace, keeping the listener enthralled by its ones and zeros. Rhythm is abandoned altogether in favor of the pulse, and the electronic textures and sounds heard in this half hour range from microsonic quietness to the harsh sine waves of Hecker. Vogel's followers should probably approach this release with caution, but fans of the stranger side of experimental techno (especially Pita and the like) are in for a treat. ~ Franois Couture

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.87
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for