CD Monument [Blank & Jones] [030206042924] (CD 141930),
back to browsing

Monument [Blank & Jones] [030206042924]

  • 1. Monument
    2. What You Need
    3. City of Angels
    4. Mind of the Wonderful
    5. Zero Gravity
    6. Stars Shine Bright
    7. Perfect Silence
    8. Flowtation
    9. Waiting For the Light
    10. Urban Hymn
    11. That's Right
    12. Ron Van den Beuken - (Edit remix, Ron Van Den Beuken Remix Edit)
    13. Ron Van den Beuken - (remix)
    14. Exor - (remix)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 060 429

  • Credits

    Unlike most DJs, the German duo of Piet Blank and Jaspa Jones actually write some of their own music. Hence this impressive album, the duo's fourth, which consists almost entirely of original compositions. Would that it also consisted almost entirely of original beats, but alas, most everything thumps along in predictable Euro-dance fashion, with the exception of the wonderfully funky and breakbeat-based title track. What redeems the sameness of the beats, though, is the shifting array of fine vocalists, the lush atmospheres, and the unabashedly sweet melodies that dominate the album. More impressively, the singers even make it possible to overlook the songs' giddily horrible lyrics ("Like a ghost that came from an old beginning/You heated up a freezing destiny," etc.). "Mind of the Wonderful" and "Perfect Silence" are two highlight tracks, but the one that's going to move retail units is the duo's adaptation of the old Cure song "A Forest," on which Robert Smith himself contributes vocals. This one being the centerpiece of the album, it's presented here in three separate mixes. Nice stuff. ~ Rick Anderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.19
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for